1667 Words

                This week, as you know from my Musings Above Planet Earth post, I’ve been on vacation. Now normally I wouldn’t put this on the internet, granting that the Yahoo Internet Safety article titled Top Ten Mistakes On Facebook says to never let people know you’re going on vacation on a social networking site. This is done to prevent people breaking into your house while you’re gone, or otherwise taking advantage of your absence.

                Here’s why I’m not worried: None of you know where I live. Except Red, but she’s my IRL BFF and I don’t believe she would use this opportunity to break into my house.

                At least, I sure HOPE she wouldn’t use this opportunity to break into my house. 😉

                It’s like, “Oh hey, this girl in such-and-such time zone is going on vacation this week to another time zone.” Okaaaay…. Not exactly worried about house-robbers.

                Moving on…. (BTW, if you DO have a Facebook, I recommend reading the article. I know my mom breaks about half those rules… And seriously, some of the photos she posts of me are just downright embarrassing. Two days ago she tried to take my picture against a tree, and I, being a morose stubborn antisocial brooding teenager, gave her my standard Artemis-worthy smirk in return. Apparently she thought it was adorable and posted it on Facebook for all her friends to see. Thaaaanks. Asdfkjsfdklsafasdgsgd;j. (That was my frustrated keyboard-pounding. Somehow I thought it would turn out a little more…. Er, I don’t know what I was expecting. Poetic? Simplistic? Holding all the answers to life? *shrug*)

                Okay, I wouldn’t call that moving on. Anyllama.

                So today was a good day. I was up until two thirty or three last night reading. Then I woke up about ten-ish, had breakfast, and we went out about noon. Our first stop was a used bookstore. I didn’t really find anything I REALLY liked—the other day I was searching left and right at Barnes and Noble for the new Ranger’s Apprentice but they only had up to Kings of Clonmel—D’arvit. Oh, and they had copies of The Atlantis Complex, but since I already had my signed copy I just smirked at them a little bit.

                Yes, Aloha, Smirker-of-Books. Don’t forget I’m also the supreme dooming ruler, peasant.

                (Over the summer we had a pool party. Instead of writing my name on the generic red plastic cup everyone had, with the generic Sharpie, I wrote Supreme Dooming Ruler. High-fives? No. Recognitions of me from my blog? Hah. No, I just got weird looks. And a couple kids from my youth group still think I’m a bit off in the head.)

                Can’t blame ‘em. *cough* Moving on… again….

                So we went to this bookstore, and I read the first forty-five pages of Shiver while everyone else was poring over their various sections. It was good, but I know we have it at the school library (I shelved it a lot last year), so I figured I could just wait until Monday and pick it up there.

                Then we went to a Christian bookstore. I spent about two hours on my knees in the teen lit section, reading the back of every one of ‘em in the section. It was bliss even though I screwed up my knee.

                The downside was, I couldn’t decide between them all. So it was either get the entire teen literature section, or walk out emptyhanded. I chose the latter. Again, most of those books could PROBABLY be found at our public library. (Although there was a Christian teen girl series about a bunch of girls who love to blog that I fell in love with. Alas, I digress.)

                Mom ended up getting some good books that I know I’ll end up reading. I mean, who in this galaxy would guess that John Grisham would be writing Christian teen fiction?! I was pretty shocked.

(And still scarred from that one book about the lawyer. Really…. Err…. Gross.)

Then we had lunch at this one pizza place that was really good. They had the thing where they put paper over the table and then give you a bunch of crayons so the little kids can draw while they wait for their food. I am not ashamed to admit I drew more than both my siblings… combined.

Whoever cleaned off the table lost the game. About six times.

I thought about writing part of a novel on there, but I wouldn’t be able to take the tablecloth home, anyway, and if some waitress found it I might find someone else having international noveling fame for MY restaurant work. Or something.

A nerd can dream.

THEN we went to a chocolate store. And by chocolate store, I don’t just mean any darn old chocolate store. I mean this place that you walk in, and your nostrils immediately expand to test this intoxicating new air. You get DRUNK off the aroma of cocoa and sugar. It’s almost like you try to eat the air. (I tried. It didn’t work so well.) And they not only have an exceeding amount of chocolate, but they shape it in every way. Crosses, hearts, boots, tools, fishing rods, dinosaurs, basketballs, cars, etc.

I was browsing around, and suddenly I saw it. A typewriter-shaped, palm-sized hunk of pure chocolate amazingness.

I’m pretty sure the room went two shades lighter, some wind blew back my hair, and this breezy little background tune played to signify the love of my life.

So I pick this thing up, and it’s just… Me and this chocolate share a moment. There’s just this feeling in the air (and maybe it’s me being drunk off chocolate fumes), but you just have a connection with the most perfect piece of food ever created.

Call me melodramatic. I’m an author, peasant. (I was going to use Zukerman’s business-card motto… but decided not to. This is a children-friendly blog. And I am a child. So yeah.)

Back to me and the chocolate. I clutch it to my chest and wander over to Dad, who’s trying to convince my sister that it really does NOT matter if she gets the cross or the puppy. She’s going to eat them both anyway.

“Dad?” I say, a little breathless. Slightly intoxicated still. “Can I get this chocolate typewriter? As a motivational tool for November?”

He looks at me a little weirdly. “Sure. I already told you, you can have one thing from this store.”

Oh, yeah. I didn’t even have to ask. Good, ‘cause after our moment, me and my typewriter aren’t parting any time soon. (Except when I eat it. But let’s not ruin the moment.)

So I bought it. And vowed I’m not allowed to eat my typewriter until I’ve written 35k on my NaNovel. Reasonable enough, right? I was trying to think of when the sludge of week two/three would be, and figured that would be enough incentive to maybe get me through.

If not, I can suck it up. I’m sure after my Halloween candy-raid I’ll have enough chocolate to last through all of November.

Or at least the first week and a half.

Speaking of candy-raids and chocolate and literature, I had some Rolos the other day. I actually bought them just for the irony (and so I could hum my song parody while eating them). But then I regretted it, considering they’re caramel-centered and I have braces.

Also, I realized I spelled the name wrong in the song. Lol.

Heck, you know what I’m going to do? I’m going to make this post 1,167 words. To show you guys that this isn’t really THAT bad. That NaNo is possible. Maybe.

Here we go.

Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama Llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama llama

((That right there (the entire post, excluding this little footnote) was 1,667 words. See, November’s totally possible! It’s just about three and a half pages, double-spaced and with semi-short paragraphs, every day for a month. Don’t think of it as a novel…. Just a bunch of llamas. But, er, not.))

KTHNXBAI!!!

AlohaFowl

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 1667 Words

  1. haha! I must say that sounds about right. 1,667 isn’t that many words at all.
    Also *enviesenviesenvies* Okay, yeah not sposed to covet but come on! A chocolate typewriter?

  2. Tigers Eyes says:

    *dreamy sigh* chocolate typewriter….
    Hah! This time, the right post! XP

Leave a Reply

