Monday Night

 Okay, the post below I typed up on Saturday….. Starting Friday night, we lost WiFi on the trip. It was pretty much torture until we flew back home yesterday. So I decided to post that today, and post this, too, so you wouldn’t be confused.

 I had school again today. Yaaaaay. Heh. It was pretty much torture. I spent the entire week of fall break last week sleeping in until ten or eleven, then reading, NaNoing, going to chocolate stores, etc. And then we had to go back and sit through Geometry again like any normal day.

Not to mention we didn’t get home from the airport until midnight last night, and I’m still feeling like I’m in another time zone. And I had to get up at quarter after six….. I’ve been a bit delirious today.

ON THE PLUS SIDE, we have wifi again. And better water pressure in the shower. And I get to sleep in my own bed, and ride my horsie, and see my IRL friends, and it’s no longer freezing.

So I’m not going to complain. Much. =)

Today in writing class the entire class period (pretty much) we did an exersize right out of the NaNo workbook. Which was funny ’cause I’d already done the entire workbook last week in my spare time. So I already knew exactly what we were going to be doing from the first sentence.

It was the exersize where you have to describe a character using only a description of their room. I’d already done it about three times…. felt like a pro.

Which I do whenever we work on something nano-related. I’m pretty sure I know as much or more about NaNoWriMo than my writing teacher. Just sayin’…. and I’m not trying to be cocky. I seriously have spent this entire year on the website. Most of my friends I met on the YWP. My social life is the forums. I daydream about RP characters and when I’m bored I write up posts in my journal. For my birthday the only things I asked for were the Write or Die: Desktop Edition, No Plot, No Problem, a NaNo poster, and some new notebooks and pens.

That may be a little overboard. But…. well, it’s who I am now.

I was thinking on the plane, since my birthday’s coming up, about how my life has changed in this past year. What’s significant in my world that wasn’t there last year?

Well, my real life friends are pretty much all the same. My horse is still the same, although we have moved up a little and gotten much better. I’m not a heck of a lot smarter, and I have most of the same teachers. I got braces, but that’s not really too significant. Still a vegetarian, still a nerd, still haven’t kissed a guy.

Thus I realized, the most significant event in my life since last year’s birthday was…. NaNoWriMo. Meeting all you guys. Making a bunch of new best friends, word-warring, getting much better in my writing. Starting a blog. Being able to type 113 WPM. I’ve written 35,000 words worth of novels and so many more worth of RPs. I can now construct a solid plot, good characters, plausible dialogue, and a believable setting, and write a 2,000 word short story, all in about an hour.

So, thank you, guys. For all of you that have inspired me, befriended me, RPed with me, word-warred with me, and helped me grow as a writer. I’d always dreamed of being a novelist, but that dream was just a distant hope. Now I’m actually writing novels. Thank you guys for being my Friday-night social life friends, helping me get through the past year of school, and just being awesome.

….This was meant to be a short post explaining why the post below this is from a few days ago. Oops. My parents always said that good ol’ Aloha could never be succinet. (or however you spell it.)

AlohaFowl

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Night

  1. And I thank you for being yet another amazing NaNoer. Especially cuz you have an epic blog ^.^

  2. Nia says:

    XD Excellent.

  3. Awwww! I love you too, sis! But I’m jealous of you for 2 things: 1.That you are doing Nano with your class, and 2.That you can type that fast! Oh well, you’re older than me, right? I’m just like you, though: I just bought No PNP with my birthday gift cards to Borders. In fact, it’s laying open on my knee as I type this on my amazingly tiny phone keyboard. XD

    • AlohaFowl says:

      Lol well I’M jealous that you have internet on your phone. And NPNP on your lap. XD
      I don’t know our age difference…. how old are you and when’s your birthday? *is spazzing on memory* (Edit: if that sounds like a creeper, it’s because I’m pretty sure we’re actually not that far apart.)
      And I can only type that fast if I REALLY get on a roll. Normally my WPM’s about eighty or ninety.

  4. Tigers Eyes says:

    *dreamy sigh* chocolate typewriter……

  5. Tigers Eyes says:

    Fail. I commented on the wrong post.

Leave a Reply

