Fire”fighters” and British Spies

This happens to be my 100th post, yay! Faith actually hit hers two days ago, though, link, and her guest-blogger, Shakesperian parody, and character interaction are better than I could do myself. So if you’re in the celebratory mood, read (or reread =P) her post.

You know what this means, right? If we’d made one post every year, our blogs would have outlived us by a quarter of a century (on average).

 So today I’m going to make a list of my favorite fiction books, and why. If you’re anything like me, you’re always looking for good books to read– because good reading translates to good writing. And good thinking. But not-so-good social habits. If you agree with anything on the list, let me know. If you don’t, let me know, too. And if you want to add to/ improve on it, leave that in the comments as well.

~Fahrenheit 451. Because sometimes you can’t beat the classics. This is a novel about a dystopian society where firefighters aren’t sent to set out fires, but to start them. It follows the story of Guy Montag, an estranged firefighter who becomes curious about the nature of the books he’s sent out to destroy. He discovers the world of forbidden literature and takes a journey examining the merits of censorship, technology’s impact on literature, and human nature. I first read it in a state of shock–Ray Bradbury’s brillance astounded me again and again. If you haven’t read it, the only thing I can say to you is do.

~The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. A science-fiction novel parodying science fiction– and at the same time a witty, action-packed adventure. Arthur and Ford are best friends, but what Arthur doesn’t know is that Ford is an alien from a distant galaxy. The Earth is destroyed in chapter 2…. and yet the adventure continues as they venture into space with the help of Ford’s cousin and his girlfriend. From aliens with poetry that will kill you to a persuasive essay on why towels are more important to pack on an intergalactic space journey than any type of gun, HGttG will leave you laughing.

~Graceling. The concept of the world itself is brilliant, and Kristin Cashore (she has a blog, too!) added the right amounts of action, suspense, character-epicness, and romance to create a truly awesome novel. Katsa, a fiesty teenager living in the fantasy land of the Middlums, is Graced–meaning she has a special, superhuman talent. Hers is killing, and she does it with finesse for her jerk of an uncle. Nothing’s easy for one so caught up in political events, though, and Katsa finds herself in charge of an underground rebellion, in a relationship with a Graceling full of intrigue, and becomes the caretaker of one special little girl. If you haven’t read it, read it. The sequel, Fire, is just as amazing.

~The Hunger Games. Enough said.

~Alex Rider. Every book in the series is amazing. A hot British teenage spy with the coolest gadgets that has to go undercover to save the world from madmen, eccentrics, and video-game designers? People call him a teenage James Bond… I call James Bond an adult version of Alex Rider. (And in the movie he totally races this grey horse through New York at a breakneck speed, runs into a Civil War reenactment, and jumps over a taxi just to get to the place where the dude’s gonna blow up the world in time. ZOMA. IKR?)

~Artemis Fowl. Do I need to get into this? I think we all know by now that Mr. Tall, Dark, and Handsome and Totally Evil Genius is my fiancee (link and link if you didn’t). I can’t think of any words to explain his epicness, which is ironic since he’s a literary character. Eoin Colfer is my HERO for creating him. From Haven underground to a manor above it, from the skyline of Chicago to the depths of the Atlantic, Fowl’s got it all. And he does. Not. Like. Lollipops.

…..

 Wow, this is embarassing. I just totally forgot every good fiction book I’ve ever read besides those above. Maybe it’s because it’s late, maybe it’s because I spent most of last night crammed into the cab of a tow truck with six other people (heh, funny story), or maybe the awesomeness has just overwhelmed me. If you can add to the list, please do. If I’ve read it, I’d love to remember it. If I haven’t, I’d love to go read it.

Also, I got new batteries for my Spanish translator, but I accidentally made the primary language setting Espanol. When I try to fix it (or use the Help button) I can’t read it.

“Just use a translator!” you say.

I glare pointedly at you.

You feel the burn of my dooming wrath. And then we go drink some chocolate milk or something.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fire”fighters” and British Spies

  1. Tangy says:

    I liked the Alex Rider series until I got to Arkangel (Ark Angel?). I feel that after the whole thing in Scorpio, it’s just not as exciting or something.

    • Aloha says:

      Scorpio was the BEST. Although if you skip to Crocodile Tears, that was a REALLY good book. Ark Angel got a bit… odd. When he gets into that knife fight at the space station… I agree, it kind of fell apart.

  2. annanm says:

    Thank you for providing me with new books to look in to that don’t have the word ‘vampire’ anywhere in their title. If one more person suggests a vampire book to me, I’m going to start wearing garlic around my neck and toting a stake under my arm.
    I must say one of my favorite books is The Road for providing a post-apocalypse that is completely believable. And then I pretty much just guzzle down anything Mark Twain ever wrote for the brilliant satire.

    • Aloha says:

      Post-apocalpytic? I’m THERE. My second novel (Lost World) was a PA based off a roleplay… It was fun to write, but with only a few people remaining left on Earth, it was hard to write new material. So they just traveled the destroyed world a bit and then I created this giant underground communist conspiracy.

      The Road. Good to know; I’ll look for that at the library.

  3. Tigers Eyes says:

    Gah, I havent read the first two. Off to the library tomorrow then. Oh, and I haven’t read Graceling, though I have read Fire, and it’s awesome!
    Yay, 100 posts! Congrats, Aloha. ‘
    *mutters to self, Graceling… The road… The hitchhikers guide to the galaxy…. huh- I always thought that one was a non-fiction- Farenheight 451…. The librarian will think I’m obsessed….*

  4. Blast. I must not have pushed submit on my other comment. Curse it.

    But how could you forget Artemis Fowl? I cannot believe it.

    Other than that, Congratulations! And I need to go to the library now…

    • Aloha says:

      Uhhh…. I actually commented back saying “ZOMA BRAIN-DEAD ZOMBIE ALOHA FORGOT FOWL”, edited the post to include it, and deleted both our comments. I was too embarassed to leave ’em >.>

      Same with me, haha XD

      • Okay… now that makes me feel very lame. I’m sorry.

        I’ve almost finished reading all of the books I got two days ago XD that’s a lot of books. I haven’t read this much in a long time, it feels awesome.

  5. Pingback: Hot Fictional Guys You Should Know About: Artemis Fowl | Embracing Insanity

Leave a Reply

