Popular Crowd Incorporated

I never got around to submitting my entry to the popularity contest.

Now, I don’t know when this turned from a procrastination issue (“Oh, I’ll do it tomorrow”, “look, it’s not due until fourth grade”) to an inner knowledge that I was going to have to accept the fact I never entered and thusly could never win.

But at some point I realized that me and popularity just weren’t really compatible. And I’m okay with that.

I’ve written a lot of poetry on the subject, but I don’t share it because I’m… how do you say it? Passionate? I’m passionate about the subject. Popularity has always been associated with stupidity and idiocy and hypocracy for me. I tend to write rather harsh words on the subject, directed at those to whom they apply (read: popular kids).

Take this post, for example. I did my best to restrain myself, by distancing myself so far from the prose that it turned into some hideous narrative letter about sarcasm and those who don’t understand it. I can feel it’s happening here, too, so I’m going to do my best not to draw away from my emotions.

Basically, here’s what I see in the popular crowd: A bunch of half-dressed morons worrying about their ‘cool’ factor in relation to other half-dressed morons, jerks to everyone except (and sometimes inclunding) fellow half-dressed morons, failing to realize that in twenty years none of this will matter. Meanwhile, people starve in Africa.

I know that’s harsh. And I know a few (read: a few) popular kids who defy this standard and are actually pretty cool people. But the rest of them are self-obsessed–wait for it– half-dressed morons.

Now here’s the problem. Agape. Loving everyone. Even your enemies.

Especially your enemies.

See, the Bible tells us that we should treat others how we would want to be treated, love those who hate us, turn the other cheek. It’s just so durned hard when your enemies are so… antagonistic. It seems some of the kids at my school are shallower than Captain Hammer from Dr. Horrible.

To make a concious effort to reach out to them? Probably the hardest Bibical command I’ve ever had to do. I still struggle with it– still am struggling with it. As far as patience, humility, agape love goes? Fail. I can hardly sit in the same room with these half-dressed morons.

Of course, a plausible first step would be to stop referring to my enemies that I’m supposed to be loving as ‘half-dressed morons’. So we’ll just call them the PCI, for Popular Crowd Incorporated.

Now the problem with PCI is that, in response to turning-other-cheek and being kind, they mortify you. Their very natures are hurtful and gossipy. Their automated setting is ‘mean’. Their lazer guns are already set to ‘humiliate’.

I embrace the fact that I’m a nerd, a geek; a social outcast. But the one issue with this is that no PCI will take you seriously. You try to be friends with them? Laughter. You try to talk to them outside of a hey-you-do-the-worksheet-while-I-sit-on-my-butt-and-talk-to-my-friends setting? Failure. They have no sense of morality, it seems.

Someday I’d like to understand the PCI. Someday I’d like to relate to them on some human interaction level.

I may never envy them, or aspire to become my own PCI unit. I’ll never sit with them at lunch or laugh at their jokes or text them on the bus.

But goshdarnit I’m going to learn how to love them.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Popular Crowd Incorporated

  1. Tigers Eyes says:

    Wow. Tghat sounds hard, but goot for you Aloha. You’re doing something I will never be able to do.

  2. annanm says:

    Sometimes I actually think it’s kinder to be mean to the “PCI.”
    Oh, you thought I was going to do the homework for you? No, no I wasn’t. Oh, you’re going to fail the class now? Ooops.
    Since they won’t lean how to be decent human beings the nice way, sometimes the only way is the mean way. If they failed the class because you refused to do something for them, then they learn next time they must be responsible, which teaching the lesson, in my mind, is a form of love. (My theologian parents would probably disagree with me at this point, but I can think of plenty of times they implemented such lessons in my life.)

    • Aloha says:

      Tough love. Yeah, I can see how that would work.
      If EVERY nerd stopped doing the work for the popular kids, maybe they’d get off their size-2-distressed-jeans butts and start doing some work or something.
      Good thought… *hmmm….*

  3. Nia says:

    You’re amazing. o.o

  4. melsar93 says:

    First off, kudos to you for including both the bible and Dr. Horrible in a single blog post.

    Secondly, when you refer to Popular Crowd Incorporated I cannot help but hear a high pitched tonal echo ala Phineas and Ferb’s “Doofenshmirtz Evil Incorporated.”

    And lastly, I may not get out much, but that is one of the best first lines for a posting I have seen in quite some time.

    Well done sir.

    • Aloha says:

      Haha, I just realized I included them both in one paragraph. *sigh* I guess this tells a lot about my personality.

      “Popular Crowd Incooorperaateed…” I can totally see that. You’re brilliant. Now I can’t help but hearing it, either XD

      Thanks. I’ve actually had that in my plethora of “singing-in-the-shower-suddenly-have-a-brilliant-line” stocks. It’s one that’s stuck with me for a while, because I’m, uh, a social outcast.

      Much appreciated 😀 Thanks for subscribing, as well! I noticed you had posted on the Blogging Buddy thread as well– is that where you found my link? (Your blog looks very interesting as well, by the way. I’ve never been much of a cook, but those look like some ‘darn’ good recipies, haha)

  5. I’ve been thinking about this for a few days, trying to decide what to say. I think maybe I know what to say. Probably, I’ll end up rambling. Oh well.

    I’m the kind of person who sees the inherent good in everyone. Except I don’t like people. I love people but I don’t like to talk to them or look at them or associate with them unless I already know them in some way. But I love people, I think they’re amazing. I always try to find the good in people. But I have never encountered the type of people you are speaking of. I’ve heard of them but I believed them a myth. I think you’ve convinced me otherwise. What would I do if I actually met one those people? Teased the flipping crap out of them because I love teasing people. I usually only do that to people who mildly bug me though. If the teasing either made them worse I would probably develop one of my life lasting grudges.

    So that’s what I would do. Tease them until they either laugh or hate me. Then I’d either hate them or tease them more.

    What should you do? I don’t know. You’re not me so how can I tell you to try to see the good in them? That’s what it very few people seem to be able to do. Even my mom has a hard time doing it. I think that you should try this but–

    Put yourself in their shoes. They’re being put down, gossiped about and are constantly watching their footsteps. What do you think this makes them feel like? Probably horrible. Probably bitter. Stressed. Frustrated. And how do they get this out? By hurting the little people, like you. It’s not like they hate you, but they feel hated and so they hate on you.

    Maybe think about that next time they hurt you, sneer at you, look at you like you’re nothing. Because if they don’t act like this, they get gossiped about more, hurt more and hated more. By their “friends”.

    • ((Holy cow! I wrote a blog post on your blog! I’m sorry!))

    • Aloha says:

      You have some geniunely good ideas. I love how you can see the good in people– that’s something I definitely can’t do.

      I agree that the verbal abuse on their part is a symptom of being verbally abused by other PCI. Some of them manage to get out of those hateful circles (like my semi-friend who happens to be popular without getting into the gossip and hate), but that’s a sad minority.

      Whenever I get put down by PCI, I write angsty poetry and it ALWAYS makes me feel better.

      • Well that’s good you have something to make you feel better =) And I was listening to Taylor Swift the other day, her song Mean. And I was thinking that what she says in her song is true. It’s a vicious mean cycle and if you don’t continue it on, then good for you! Even if you’re not nice to them it’s better if you don’t carry on the mean.

        Also, if you’re nice to them that’s the worst revenge you could get on them.

        Then I was watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer where Willow is always teased by that really cruel girl but in the end it’s always the cruel girl that gets the short end of the stick. Willow always has Buffy and Zandor and is always happy. Then she gets back at the cruel girl by using her geeky skills which they make fun of her for when she makes them delete their document. XD

        I’ll stop now. I’m excellent at posting long comments, huh?

Leave a Reply

