Cute Funny Kittens (A Poem)

Tears are tumbling from my eyes

As humanity tries to defy its lies

We’re satisfied by fries and pies

We rise to strive to ignore the cries

Think we’re wise to win the prize

Materialism gives us highs

Bleached blondes go through chais and guys

When will we ever realize?

Happiness can’t be found in buys

Pagan perfection, our souls paralyzed

Americans shy while Africans die

While cute funny kittens garner our sighs

The resolve dries

We live the lie

We live to die

 

I sever all ties

From the world I despise

~

That’s the end of the poem, and that’s how I feel about society. *headdesk* The main thing is how Americans (including myself) are so willing to overlook poverty and starvation in other countries–while choosing to focus on things like who’s wearing what on the red carpet, or the most recent cute cat video. It makes me sick. It makes me want to move. It makes me want to become a hermit on the coast of Ireland and live in a cave with scrolls. (As long as said cave has WiFi.)

Anyway. I’m as guilty of it as anybody else. To live in ignorance is to live in bliss (link for my thoughts on that). But it’s not the way God calls us to live…. and living in ignorance is only satisfying for so long.

I dedicate this poem to the popular crowd, my very faithful examples of bleached blondes sucking up coffee and guys. (You guys are the best!!)

Oh, how I can’t wait until I can get my spaceship and watch your little over-concealed faces as you go, “Hey, wasn’t that the SciFi nerd I ran over in the halls every day as a teenager?”

Yes, popular kid. That was me. This is me. Prepare to be doomed.

–I get my fantasies.

What do you guys think about the issue of poverty and the general American view of it? Agree/disagree with the poem or my opinions? Let me know. It’s a hot issue for me, and I’d like to know where everyone else stands.

In the meantime, does anyone know of a remote cave off the coast of Ireland with WiFi?

Who needs political knowledge when you can just 'aww' over cats?

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cute Funny Kittens (A Poem)

  1. Olivia says:

    Have you tried irishcaverealestate.ie? I’ve found some really good deals there. At least… I think they’re good deals. It’s all in Euros so I don’t really know…

    On a serious note, I share your burning passion to help those less fortunate. In fact, I want to become a missionary to Africa. ^^

  2. Nia says:

    That’s an awesome poem.

    Poverty sucks. That’s all I have to say on the matter.

  3. My life plan: Graduate with a B.S in education. Graduate with a Ph.D in psychology. Move to Brazil and watch pink dolphins and write novels. Get famous. Move to Australia and live in a random hut while ignoring the rest of the society. (I have no idea why I want to get those degrees, it’s just goals I’ve made for myself.)

    Yep.

    Now, however, I agree with you on the hunger front. However, I believe that we should be more concerned about what’s happening in our own country. There are children starving, people dying, homeless on the streets… so many other horrid things happening in our own country. And yet all we care about, and yes as you said, is what is happening on the red carpet.

  4. Tigers Eyes says:

    I adore that poem… 0.0 It’s… pure awesome…..
    I agree with you about the hunger and the poverty. They suck.
    What do you think about the Hubble telescope?

Leave a Reply

