The Education System VS Invader Zim

Today, my little brother had a school assignment. As a unit introduction, they had to write the lyrics to their favorite song, and put the artist (“singer”, the teacher presumably explained to the seven year olds) up at the top.

My brother, being, well, my brother, did this.

Adorable, right?? By “Grrr”. Sounding out? Heck yes. Well done, my little doomsayer. You must continue my legacy long after my presence has ceased to grace this earth.

But then, of all the cruel and unusual tricks of the public schooling system, but he was denied by his teacher the fact that The Doom Song is a valid song! She says that “a song with only one word repeated over and over is not a song.”

It was good enough for Nickelodeon. It should be good enough for first grade.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in My Real Life, Nerd Fun, Zombie Apocalypse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Education System VS Invader Zim

  1. draagyn12 says:

    LOL! I can see my little brother doing the exact same thing….

  2. haha! I love your little brother.

  3. Tigers Eyes says:

    Your little brother is officially awesome.

  4. annanm says:

    That totally counts as a song; silly education system!
    I kinda hope my brother ends up with an assignment like this… then we could do The Mysterious Ticking Noise. Of course, that might lead to an office visit for him.
    I’m officially convinced schools are trying to thwart and corrupt all things awesome.

    • Aloha says:

      I’m agreed on the school conspiracy. Why else would the district servers block youtube?
      (Besides the fact no one would ever be trusted to use the computer labs for assignments anymore…)

  5. Mercy says:

    No, that’s not true! If you listen very carefully, it’s not just one word! Please tell your brother, when and if he has to correct his paper, to rewrite the song with the correct lyrics. Some of them are “doom de doom doom” and “doomy doom doom”. Note the different variations of doom that are technically NOT the same word.

  6. Nia says:

    Oh my gosh. I love the Doom Song. I thought I was the only one in the world who appreciated it.

    “DOOM DOOM DOOM DOOM DOOM DOOM DOOM DOOM DOOM DOOM…”

    I also had to go grab my nine-year-old brother and show him the doom song. He is now singing it repeatedly, to the constant giggling of my five-year-old sister.

    A song that can bring this much delight to so many people has to be classified as a real song. It just HAS to.

Leave a Reply

