Katniss Cast: And the Odds Are in Our Favor

We’ve got a date: March 23, 2012.

We’ve got a director: Gary Ross.

And now we’ve got ourselves a Katniss.

Meet Jennifer Lawrence, an Oscar nominee that’s still fairly new to the Hollywood scene. I was hesitant about her at first, because the first picture of her showed a beach-blonde tanned celeb (and we all know I hate those….), but check out this video.

Her sincerity, ability to laugh at herself, and complete composure in the face of such an intimidating interview…. Guys, I think she’s going to actually be able to pull this off. Especially once they get her the right hair and she’s actually wearing substantial clothing 😉

Now we can only hope that Alex Pettyfer (read: superhotalexriderbeastlyiamnumberfour) gets the role of Peeta…. And if not, I’m still seriously psyched for this movie. It may help that I’ve been rereading the series for the past week, but I honestly believe that they’re going to pull it off.

For more information on the new casting update, read this and this. And I’m sure if you google “katniss everdeen hunger games movie” or something, you’ll get a bunch of gossip sites with the same information.

Who else is ready for Jennifer Lawrence to kick some serious Capitol butt?!

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Books and Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Katniss Cast: And the Odds Are in Our Favor

  1. BushMaid says:

    Hrm… can’t say I’ve decided whether I want to see it yet. First book was good, second ok, third totally bleck, in my tiny little opinion. But they’ve casted a perfect Katniss! She looks like she would be able to pull it off ok! 😀

  2. Hm. Her face isn’t exactly what I pictured, a little too round and chubby (isn’t it funny I have the same face shape? lol) but I think she’ll do okay. And I agree with you on who should be Peeta! Totally perfect. I just hope they pick a good Gale… because in my mind, he’s totally hot.

  3. Olivia says:

    Weird. At 2:57 the video is stopping for me and it won’t go on…

    I’d never heard of her before (and the same goes for most really famous actors xD), so I only have the little snippet at the beginning by which to judge her acting, but I think she has has the potential to do well! (Heh, I’m kind of with Faith–her face is… rounder, I guess, than how I picture Katniss, but not as round as mine. :P) And she actually seems like a nice person. And funny. And humble.

    Her dress could be a bit longer though. xP

  4. KathrineROID says:

    “Her sincerity, ability to laugh at herself, and complete composure in the face of such an intimidating interview…. Guys, I think she’s going to actually be able to pull this off. Especially once they get her the right hair and she’s actually wearing substantial clothing. ;)”

    I don’t get psyched over actor choices and pre-production and whatnot. I just don’t. But I am impressed with the way she conducted herself during the interview. People who can laugh at themselves are great, and I really appreciate someone who can make an interview enjoyable. On clothes. . . did anyone else notice she had to pull her skirt down when she took a seat and it was still. . . bad? *sigh* This is why you don’t wear a dress that shows off your legs when you stand, ’cause you’re showing off your thighs when you sit. Oh well. Modesty rant over.

  5. Tigers Eyes says:

    I saw the photo and my brain just went ; oh no, one of those -youknowwhatImean,right?- celebrities… but she seems nice…
    Though that dress really should be longer. >.>
    Now they better cast a hot Gale and yes- Alex Pettyfer for Peeta! (Though I did picture him kind of chubby- Peeta, I mean)

  6. Nia says:

    Don’t let us down, Jennifer. *Menacing glare*

  7. Mercy says:

    I have to admit, for someone who is totally unlike the Katniss in the book, she’d be such a good Katniss. But they should dye her hair red.

    • Mercy says:

      Nevermind, apparently they’re doing it dark, since Katniss is dark-haired and olive-skinned in the book, but I still think it should be red. I totally ignored the descriptions and pictured her as a redhead. (And how will Jennifer look with dark hair? She’s such a natural blonde!)

  8. draagyn12 says:

    Okay… we’ve got ourselves a Katniss. And I think she might just actually be up for the job. Seriously, she already knows how to skin a squirrel, so I think that she’s got the whole playing the girl who excels at the whole”eating whatever I can find that won’t kill me” thing down pat.
    And that clip from the movie in the beginning – we now know she can do a bit of a southern accent.
    Let the 74th Annual Hunger Games begin. And may the odds be ever in your favor, Jennifer Lawrence.

  9. Tigers Eyes says:

    Gah…. dark haired? I knew that… but I think I’ve been picturing her as a blond…. xD

Leave a Reply

