Just Give Me a Drumset and Call Me Jim

Hello, readers. Yesterday, I got a package in the mail from my aunt, and it was shaped in such a way that I knew it could only be one thing.

The package was long and thin, scrawled several times over with the words “Do not bend!!”. Of course, my first thought was Wonderflonium (no bouncing, anyone?), but that was just me. My real guess was that it HAD to be a wand along with my invitation to Hogwarts, and the owl had just gotten tired waiting for me to get home from school.

Of course, that was not to be, in part because the package was from my aunt and also partially because Hogwarts doesn’t exist.

Anyway, it wasn’t a wand. It was a drumstick.

It was signed by several members of my favorite band Fireflight, with the band name printed on the side and a heart written in Sharpie, probably by the lead singer Dawn.

I suppose this requires some backstory. Two years ago, during the December after my very first NaNoWriMo, my aunt and uncle called me on the phone (they live on the other side of the country). They told me that they’d bought a drumstick signed by my favorite band online, and that if I let them read my novel, they’d send it to me.

Of course I laughed, because my novel sucked and wasn’t worth a drumstick of the turkey variety (even to a vegetarian). So I discarded the idea and my novel, and haven’t really thought about it since.

If this seems shocking to you, seeing as they’re my favorite band and all: I really didn’t have the heart to tell my relatives that I already have a birthday card, t-shirt (that I’m actually wearing right now, ironically), and VIP concert pass, all signed by the band Fireflight. We went to one of their concerts for my birthday a few years ago and got to meet them all, take a picture with them, and have them sign practically everything we had on us (the shirts on our backs included).

So that’s the backstory. Two years later, I come home from school to find a package addressed to me, Hogwarts, drumstick, etc, and you know the rest.

I was happy, elated, even, vowed to call them, send my thanks, and offer apologizes that I’d somehow lost my 1st novel in a computer crash or a flash drive malfunction or something. I put the drumstick on the shelf with my horse show trophies and signed Artemis Fowl books, then went off to go blog.

But there’s more to the story. This morning while I was getting ready for school, I took a closer look at the drumstick. I wanted to compare the signatures to those on my birthday card to see who signed what where.

And that’s when I saw it.

The band Fireflight consists of Dawn, Wendy, Glen, and Phee.

There’s no Jim.

I gave a nervous chuckle– I may not have logged onto their website for a few months, but I was pretty sure I’d know if they added a new member of the band, being on their email newsletter and all that.

So I took a step back, and that’s when I realized something that made me half laugh, half choke in surprise.

No, there’s no Jim in the band Fireflight. But there IS a guy named Jim who apparently went to a Fireflight concert, much like I did, and got them to sign everything he had. He must have had a drumstick in his pocket, because:

Well.

That’s the story of how my aunt and uncle got me a drumstick signed by my favorite band to a man named Jim.

.

I just have the worst luck with signed merch lately. Sigh.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just Give Me a Drumset and Call Me Jim

  1. Tigers Eyes says:

    Oh poor Aloha….
    I wonder if ‘Jim’ knows his drumstick is missing? or is he your uncle?

    • Aloha says:

      No, they told me they bought the drumstick online, so Jim must have sold it on Ebay or something. I don’t think they realized that Jim isn’t just another band member. LOL.

  2. Nia says:

    *Dissolves into giggles* Oh my dog. That’s just… Sad. And absolutely hilarious.

  3. haha! Wow, Aloha. I feel like sending you something now with a weird name on it, just to keep it going. But I won’t, because I like you. (And I kind of like don’t have your address)

    • Aloha says:

      Your comment made me wonder if getting stuff signed to random people’s name wasn’t going to become a hobby for me.

      “I collect bottle caps! What about you?”
      “I get stuff signed with other people’s names….”
      “Oh…. okay….” *back away slowly*

      But yes, liking me and not having my address are two major problems XD If we ever meet at NoWD, you can sign my shirt to Chuck or something.

  4. mayjayisdoom says:

    awwwww! Well it’s still a signed drumstick tho! I wonder if this mysterious Jim knows it’s gone… xD

  5. mayjayisdoom says:

    That was myna up there, this is AJ XD

    You should totally start collecting things signed to other people lol. That would be the coolest hobby ever~ I’ve got a song book signed to my dead great aunt fromBilly Gram? XD

    AJ

Leave a Reply

