HFGYSKA: Raoul

Name: Raoul

From: The Phantom of the Opera

Age: Probably late teens, early twenties.

Personality: Raoul is a softspoken, personable man, but as the Viscount of Chagny, holds great power. He tries to use that power to woo the girl he loves, Christine Daae, but, y’know, she’s being blackmailed by the Phantom of the Opera and threatened with drowning in under and all that.

Like Marius, Raoul is a hopeless romantic, and will do anything to get the girl he loves.

Skills: I’m not sure, but I think the book said he was a decent singer. He definitely is in the musical (<3). He also has all the skills needed for one of his status–mainly bookwork, I believe.

When you think about it, the Phantom of the Opera is similar to Les Miserables in that there’s a tragic love triangle– two people love each other dearly and there’s a third, less desirable person trying to catch the attention of one of the starcrossed lovers. And then the third person dies, and the two lovers get a happy ending.

In Les Mis, it’s Marius and Cosette with the tagalong Eponine. In Phantom, it’s Raoul and Christine with tagalong Erik.

So sad. So tragically sad. Now I’m going to Disneyland.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HFGYSKA: Raoul

  1. annanm says:

    Is it wrong that I think Erik is awesome? Yes, he is murderous and really quite despisable in many regards, but then I think “poor Erik…” and really, it’s not his fault he ended up so deranged.
    But I think I’m always pro-bad guy in fiction. And Raoul is such a good guy. I like him, but… poor Erik….
    Argh, I’m going in circles!

  2. Nia says:

    “So sad. So tragically sad. Now I’m going to Disneyland.”

    ^Giggles.

  3. Nia says:

    Oh, yes. And:

    NOOO! ERIK IS WICKED AWESOME! 😀 ❤

Leave a Reply

