Well, I’m Back Home, Anyway

So we’ve returned. “There’s no place like home,” Dorothy said, but I’m sure she would have happily stayed in Oz if the scarecrow in the original was as hot as his Wicked adaption. Sigh and swoon; let us move on.

These past five days have been a whirlwind. My mother decided to treat our trip to the happiest place on earth as a full time job, and we spent 13-14 hours a day between the two parks, Disneyland and California Adventure. Highlights included (my personal favorite) the musical adaption of Aladdin, Soaring Over California, Peter Pan, the fireworks show, my brother getting his cast signed by Buzz and Mickey, the not-so-frightening haunted house (in which our “doom-buggy” broke down mid-haunt and we had to wait for ten minutes with the mechanical ghouls howling at us before they fixed it), and finding out through a “which-Disney-character-are-you-most-like” that I strongly resemble Malificent, the evil fire-spewing-dragon mistress that calls on the spirits of hell to aid her during the climax of Sleeping Beauty. Delightful, but I can’t say I’m surprised.

Anyway, it was a good time. I’m not much for theme parks, because there’s too many people and I’m horrible at waiting in lines, which we did a lot of, but altogether we had a great trip. Whenever I get bored in crowds, I amuse myself by “character-scouting”, in which I scan all the people in the area for those that resemble my characters, and then observe them to see if they’d actually fit said character in a movie adaption of my book.

Maybe someday I’ll work up the nerve to ask them if they’d be open to a movie deal. But seeing as my Pulitzer prize has yet to be won and Pixar hasn’t called about that movie optioning yet, I’m probably not in a position to offer careers.

It keeps me busy in the line for Space Mountain, at any rate.

On the way home I worked more on my Script Frenzy idea (which I thought of during the Fantasmic! show last night–yes, kill me if you will, but it’s an Ouran Host Club fanfiction), and my new novel, which is coming into form quite nicely. Hopefully this one will be more coherant than Embracing Insanity. Right now the working title is Operation Overthrow, because I’m uncreative. It’s OpOv for short, so if I refer to that without explanation, you’ll know what I mean.

I’ve never written a script before, so I figured if I start with fanfiction I can work more on the form of the script and less on trying to develop characters. Besides, any excuse to spend more time thinking about Tamaki is a good enough reason to sink to the depths of fanfiction for me. 🙂

Well, tomorrow we’re running a 5k (no rest for the wicked, eh?), and after logging so many hours between the parks and still trying to juggle the blog as best as I could, I’m dead tired. Next week I’ll try to get around to responding to comments, and I’m working out a new posting schedule. No more HFGYSKA for at least a few days, I promise. ;D

There’s no place like home, you guys. But the one thing I missed most about home while we were gone was saying,

“YOU LOST THE GAME.”

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well, I’m Back Home, Anyway

  1. Nia says:

    NOOOOOOO!

  2. ARGH! Well guess what? YOU LOST THE GAME TOO! I also realized something, every time you have to reply to comments on this post you lose the game because you either remember about it or else you read where you said You Lost the Game or else someone else makes you loose the game. Mwhaha!

    Anyway, it’s great to have you back! I’m glad you had so much fun 🙂 And I wished I had more than a vague idea for my screnzy idea but I guess this is what it’s all about 🙂 writing from the seat of your pants. April, here we come!

Leave a Reply

