5 Reasons I Don’t Mind Airplanes

Today we’re flying to visit my grandparents for the week (and it’s a long trip). Jet lag? Yes. Too many people? Certainly. A disturbing lack of wifi from thousands of feet up in the air? You know it. But there’s good things about flying, too. Among them….

5) A chance to hone social skills and/or “people observe” for writing. With so many people milling around the airport, snoring on the plane, and cursing out the baggage claim attendants, it’s a great chance to fill some mandatory Real-Life Socialization hours, or just get ideas for your next protagonist.

4) That magazine they always have on the plane with the coolest new stuff from Japan and the such. Some of it’s lame and useless, but most of it is really, really awesome. Generally too expensive, but it’s still neat to flip through and see where technology’s taking us.

3) The lack of internet allows you time to read, write, sleep, or draw without the temptation of YouTube, Facebook, WordPress, or the NaNoWriMo site. Still haven’t decided whether this is good or bad yet.

2) The view is truly stunning. Looking at the earth from so far above it…. you can understand why God said “this is good”. I think when I become Supreme Dooming Ruler I’ll rule from the sky. At least part of the time.

1) The coloring books and crayons my parents always get us to help pass the time 🙂 This has been the case every plane ride since I can remember, and it hasn’t stopped even as all three of us kids have gotten older. I’m glad.

.

Yesterday I raided the library’s “writing guide” section, so hopefully I can share some of the things I’m learning with you guys. I’d like to think it’ll come out in my poetry and prose, too, although most of it pertains to novels instead of blogging-type things. There’s one book I got that’s focused on how to write for the internet and how to maximize your blog, but I didn’t look at the release date until after I got home: 1999. Don’t know how much of the information’s still relevant, but it’s worth a look.

I’m also reading a really interesting book right now called The 38 Most Common Fiction Writing Mistakes, and it’s pretty neat. The author has not only written over 75 novels, but he also used to be a college professor, so he knows exactly how to help aspiring writers. He’s talked a lot so far about starting your novel with action and never letting the action “slip”, whether by too much description or a lull in conflict and/or tension. I, for one, tend to forget that, so I find his work interesting.

Well, I’ve got a long day ahead of me. Tally-ho and see you on the other side of the terminal!

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 5 Reasons I Don’t Mind Airplanes

  1. Mercy says:

    You forgot another reason for liking airplanes: so you don’t have to spend more than 12 hours in a car with your family! We’re going to Colorado on Thursday. And we are driving. From TEXAS.

    • Aloha says:

      Oofta! I can certainly sympathize with you– last year we took a three-week road trip with seven people all the way to CANADA and back in the RV. Seven people trying to all get ready in a 3×3 bathroom in the mornings? Not fun.

      But cars are even worse, because you’re all crammed with no leg room and no way to move around. Best of luck!

  2. Madeline P says:

    That’s funny, because I recently raided the library’s writing guides as well and came out with a copy of 38 Most Common Fiction Writing Mistakes… I haven’t read it yet, though; I got distracted by Kristen Cashore again…

    • Aloha says:

      XD I got your text but figured it was too late there to respond. There’s ANOTHER opportunity for tears!

      Let me know what you think of the book. I thought there were some things I didn’t agree with, but for the most part it offered some good advice. That “Wally” dude has some issues 🙂

      • Madeline P says:

        I just returned 38 Mistakes (I figured I wouldn’t reading it anytime soon) without opening it, but I plan to get it again once school starts. 🙂

        And it’s never too late to text me; last night I stayed up till 12:30-ish watching the Les Mis 25th Anniversary Musical, and cried during “Empty Tables, Empty Chairs” and when Ephonine died… *bows head in shame*

      • Aloha says:

        Sounds good! I’ve got a bunch of reserves in that I’ve gotta go pick up as soon as we get back from our trip…. I just love our library!

        OH MY GOODNESS you have no idea HOW many times I’ve seen that– it has a permanent place on my grandma’s TiVo, and I watch it whenever I come over. And I cried both those times during the actual musical….. plus when Enjolras died, and during Bring Him Home (Our Valjean was amazing). I cry a lot during Les Mis.

  3. Madeline P says:

    “Our” Valjean?

Leave a Reply

