Summer Ends and Camp NaNoWriMo Begins

Today marks the beginning of the month, our first day home from vacation, the start of Camp NaNoWriMo for many (including, at least until school starts, myself), and the expiration date of the chocolate milk I finished last week.

But it’s also a time bomb, because in ten days the dreaded school year resumes. When riding, blogging, YouTube-perusing, anime marathons, and napping (some of the most important things in life) take a backseat to education.

Don’t get me wrong, school can be enjoyable. If all goes well, I’m taking journalism this year, which I’m really excited about, and there’s a Japanese Club focused on manga and anime that I can’t wait to join. It’ll be good to see all my friends again, and hopefully my Spanish hasn’t gotten too stale.

I also, through happenstance, found one of my Biology classmates this year (through the stupid internet homework I’ve been doing all summer) is a Death Note fan! Which gives me hope that I’ll make more friends this year than I have before….

But regardless of the positives, school is school, and it starts next week. Where’d the summer go?! Seems like just last week I was watching the dreaded school buildings disappear from the rear-view mirror and laughing like Light Yagami.

For those of you going back soon, how do you feel? Excited, or disappointed? Looking forward to anything in particular?

And if you’re already past the school years, was the return to the classroom something you enjoyed or dreaded? Any advice for those of us still stuck in the system?

(On a writing note: let me know if anyone else is doing Camp NaNoWriMo this month! I’m going to do my best on a Fullmetal Alchemist “sequel” fanfiction…. fun stuff.)

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life, Nerd Fun and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Summer Ends and Camp NaNoWriMo Begins

  1. melsar93 says:

    Napping is very important. You might need to readjust your school year schedule to include them.

    I was always ready for school to start in the fall, but as you may have guessed I’m kind of a geek that way.

    • Aloha says:

      I know, right? I’ve gotten a nap almost every day this summer for at least an hour– and I’ve been sleeping up to eleven hours at night. I literally spend half the day sleeping. It is so llama’d nice.

      Yeah, I figured πŸ™‚ You’re like my dad– I think he liked going back to school, too. He took college classes in the summer, even (and wants me to do the same -.-).

  2. annanm says:

    School… 😦
    Obviously, I lean towards the dread category. But I only have 2 classes this semester, so I’m looking into taking some drawing courses at my community center in my spare time.
    *Googles Camp NaNoWriMo* Actually, I might want to do that… I have a few characters I came up with that might be fun to explore. Plus it would probably be good to force myself to write more. Aw heck, I’ll do it. Good luck on your fan fic! And also on your return to school; show those popular kids who really has the most fun. πŸ˜€

    • Aloha says:

      Only two classes? *jawdrop* You’re so lucky πŸ˜€

      Awesome!! If you’re on the site, let me know your username and I’ll add you as a “cabin buddy” πŸ™‚

      • annanm says:

        All the other classes I needed got cancelled. 😦

        Sure! As with just about everywhere else, my user name is AnnaNM. (I know, I’m super-original.)

      • Aloha says:

        Wow…. that’s bad D: So does that mean you just have to postpone them?

        Okay! I’m fullmetalgeek. I added you to my cabin.

  3. Madeline P says:

    What’s your user name on Camp NaNoWriMo? I’m still Jester Mangoz, and I’d like to be in a “cabin” with you. πŸ™‚

    • Aloha says:

      I added you– I’m FullmetalGeek.

      • Maddie P says:

        I don’t like Camp NaNo as much; they don’t give you a copy of your book as a reward. 😦
        Also with school and the dreaded band camp I’m being forced to attend (snarls at memory), I think I’m going to see how far I can go this month, and if I don’t finish, I’ll just keep working on if for November. Since my account is a YWP, I can make my word goal high enough so that I still have to go crazy trying to finish my book. Does that sound moderately fair?

      • Aloha says:

        Yeah, that’s a downside. But it is good prep for when you DO get a copy!

        Definitely sounds fair– I’m doing much the same thing. I’ve got a lot of things going this month so I’m just going to get as far as I can.

        Band camp sounds “fun”…. I have two other friends doing the same thing, though, so I’ll text you their names and see if you know them. Remind me to charge my phone more often πŸ˜€ And I keep getting your texts while I’m riding horses or doing chores, and forgetting to respond to them later *facepalm* Feel free to kick me in the butt next time you see me XD

  4. Ugh. You talking about school reminds me that I have to go back in a few months. I guess I’m on the side of the people who dread school. But I blame it on the fact that I’m taking foundations math >.< But that Japanese Club sounds awesomesauce! As does the journalism class. I hope you do make more friends! Friends are good.

    • Hent, I completely ignored the Camp NaNoWriMo part. YES! Go us campers!

      • Aloha says:

        Definitely! I won’t make it to the chat room today (Wed) because of NextGen again, but sometime Thursday I’m hoping we can word war. >:D Then I can make up how badly I’ve fallen behind!

    • Aloha says:

      “A few months”? You have it easy, girl! Although I know you just got out a few weeks ago…. still. You have no reason to dread the near future!

      Foundations math…. sounds…. intriguing. LOL.

      Yep! And I found out this new friend is a Christian and likes a lot of other things that I do, too. It’s cool because we met online, but we’ll meet in person next week, a treat I don’t get with all my other internet friends!

  5. Emily says:

    Oh my gosh – as an only child I lived for school. Now that I have a car and a life during the summer, I hate going back! There’s just so much freaking homework, scheduled at the most inopportune times! It makes roadtrips (that should be one word despite what spell check says) and concerts and spending an entire day being a menace to society pretty difficult to accomplish. I will say that I get to nap quite often in college though. It makes the school year much more bearable. Also, I finished my Spanish minor last semester, so this is the first year I don’t have to go back dreading those first few weeks of summer-rust-polishing like I’m getting a tetanus shot.

    On another note, this is only the second time I’ve heard about Camp NaNoWriMo (the first being your next post, lol), but I’m really excited about trying it out. Do you have to pay? What is it exactly?

    • Emily says:

      Apparently I’m incapable of short comments.

    • Aloha says:

      You get naps in college? There’s hope for me yet. πŸ˜‰

      Camp NaNoWriMo is an extension of the yearly National Novel Writing Month (or “regular NaNoWriMo”), which typically takes place in November. Camp NaNoWriMo can be done in June, July, or August, I believe, and it’s basically a high-motivation and peer pressure method to write a novel of 50,000 words in a month. You choose your “cabins”, a group of up to five other novelists, and can word war, share ideas, or just goof off with them.

      The best part is that it’s run completely on donations, which means you don’t have to pay unless you want to. Here’s the home page of the site.

      Come check it out! I’d like to see you there πŸ™‚ I’m fullmetalgeek.

  6. Madeline P says:

    Band camp is basically boot camp for the musically inclined (or not) members of our school. This one guy (codename: Larry), is in charge of the alto saxophones when we divide off into groups and practice the heck out of the stupid Christmas songs we’re playing, and he’s driving me insane. I was about to shove the neck of his darn-tooting trumpet up his butt by the time our teacher called us back inside. *grinds teeth*

    And don’t worry; aside from Larry and certain politicians, I have no intention of kicking anyone’s butt. XD

    • Aloha says:

      XD That sounds like a blast.

      Hey, I was talking to my friend today and he said he knew you. Andrew V———? Short, obnoxious, funny? He’s at a band camp too, and I wasn’t sure if you guys went to the same one. If you need his full name, text me.

      OH, and congrats on winning the Pitch-It contest at NextGen!! Which novel are you going to take the five-page critique out of?

Leave a Reply

