NextGen Awesomeness and Camp NaNoWriMo Fail

Well, today was a busy day. And by that, I mean I rolled out of bed at noon, ate an afternoon breakfast, rode my horse (that’s right– she’s recovered enough to the point where I can at least walk around on her bareback! Although her attitude’s another problem….), and then spent the rest of the day on the NextGen Writer’s Conference.

I think I posted the information here a few weeks ago…. basically it’s a free online conference for writers 20 years old and younger– targeted at teenagers. All the speakers (there are 12) are either published writers, editors, or otherwise affiliated with the publishing business.

But the selling point– and what I didn’t realize until things started up this morning– is that every speaker is Christian and gives their writing lectures from a Biblical perspective. How cool is that? Free online Christian teen writers conference. The epitome of awesome.

Today’s talks were on secondary characters, building an authentic story world, making research fun, improving your attitude as a writer, looking at your first five pages and hooking the reader, and then the benefits of different POVs.

Most of them took the form of blog posts, although one was a video and one was a live chat. In each, the author of the post answered all the questions and comments from the participants, usually with more advice. It’s seriously good stuff.

Tomorrow’s talks are on how to create a good manuscript, trying to get published when you’re still a teenager, adding inspiration to your writing, overcoming writer’s block, writing short stories, and thinking outside of the box.

The best part is, even if you missed the first day, it’s not too late to round out the second half. Go here to register– and let me know if you do, because I’ll look for you in the comments!

They’re giving away a bunch of prizes at random– like 5, 10, or even 15-page critiques from published authors. One of the speakers is even giving away a copy of her latest book. All you have to do is comment on a post, and someone will be chosen at random. So head over and sign up! šŸ™‚

On a less awesome note, I’m failing at Camp NaNoWriMo. I have only about 200 words… and my goal for the month was 20k. I could blame it on NextGen, or my biology homework, but I’m really just lazy. For some reason I’m not feeling the motivation I get during NaNoWriMo….. is it because I just picked up a crack novel idea the night before and thought it would be fun to try, without the usual planning? Or because it’s fanfiction, which I usually despise? Or maybe because only a few people I know are doing it, instead of all my friends?

I don’t know. But hopefully I can make up for it in November. I’ve got a lot of fresh ideas from NextGen!

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts, My Writing Life, Nerd Fun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NextGen Awesomeness and Camp NaNoWriMo Fail

  1. Emily says:

    You, my dear, are positively inspiring. I feel like I need to go sign up for both of these camps asap! PS, don’t feel guilty about only having 200/2k words if you get to take breaks and ride horses – I’m so jealous! I’ve been begging my mom for a pony since I was two. But do you see a pony around here?! (Just realized you prolly can’t. The answer is no.) At one point, not knowing the connotations of what I said, I threatened to “save a horse, ride a cowboy.” I’m not sure if she took me seriously or just thought it was funny, but she let me take lessons at a nearby barn after that. PPS, sorry my PS was so ridonkulously long.

    • Aloha says:

      šŸ˜€ That’s hilarious, how you got your mom to let you take lessons. Considering I started riding when I was eight, I think my mom would be concerned if I had used the same line of reasoning.

      My horse is a stubborn, mind-of-her-own mare, and we fight all the time. She’s also lazy as heck, which makes things even more difficult for me.

      But I love her, and dote on her like a child šŸ™‚

  2. annanm says:

    Whoa, that conference sounds awesome. And yay on your horse’s recovery. Hopefully her attitude won’t prove to be too challenging. I once had to give my horse 2 months off to recover from dental work… *shudder* End of that story is retraining is hard. But rewarding.
    Don’t give up on camp yet! Writing without planning can be fun; just throw yourself into it and put down whatever comes to mind. In fact, now that I think about it, that’s pretty much my entire writing process.

    • Aloha says:

      Wow! It’s been almost five months since I’d ridden her (save this week, obviously), but the problems started last November, so things have been bumpy for a while. Luckily, she’s been improving in leaps and bounds since Monday. And by that, I mean I can walk her up and down the road a bit bareback and she doesn’t freak out when the dogs run up behind her.

      Small steps lead to big progress, though.

      XD But then you edit it into oblivion and never get any farther because you’re too picky.

Leave a Reply

