That Stereotypical Sentimental Blog Anniversary Post

Well, it’s been exactly one year (plus a few hours) since I started this little patch of the internet. Threw some chocolate milk on it, and it’s grown into a little blossom that I’m proud of. I’ve really poured my heart and soul into what’s gone from “just another WordPress.com site” to Embracing Insanity: “jaded, sarcastic, and superior“. It’s like a child of my bosom*.

WOW. Would you like some mac with that cheese?

Now that we’ve gotten past the initial teary-eyed paragraph, we can get on with the actual post.

So it’s been 219 posts, 1,467 comments, and 365 days since the day I sipped my chocolate milk, sat back, and surveyed the first draft of a little WordPress blog called Aloha’s World. I didn’t start it because I wanted to change the world (except to rule it, but at that point I had no definite plans, just a general outline), or because I wanted a huge fanbase (which is good, or I would have quit a while back), or because I wanted to spend my entire waking life thinking about post topics and widgets and FreshlyPressed blogs and titles for posts I hadn’t written yet and upgrades and that satisfying feeling you get when you push the blue “Publish” button after a well-crafted post, although I’m probably alone on that one.

Or how you actually feel a little out of breath when you use or read run-on sentences.

The point is, I started the site on a whim. And it amazes me to see 1) I’ve stuck with it this long already, 2) YOU GUYS have stuck with me this long already, and 3) we haven’t all been driven psychotic as a result.

More or less.

I wish I’d been less of an idiot and printscreened the blog on the first day, because I wish I still had the original format for old times’ sake. (Or for posterity. Or something…)

What I DO have, though, is the very first post! And I thought I’d share it here again, because I think it’s kind of funny. The more things change, the more they stay the same. Although I like to think I’ve improved, matured, learned valuable life lessons or gotten any better at cooking, truth is that things are pretty much the same (and my skills as a chef have not gotten better since that one time I tried to make EasyMac and almost burned down my grandma’s house. All you have to do for that stuff is stick in the microwave…. after adding water, which I forgot).

So happy birthday, EI, here’s to another year, and without further rambling and/or overused commas, I present to you the very first post.

Capital: Llamaville

Posted on August 15, 2010 by Aloha

I’m Aloha, and this is my roar.

Figured I should warn you right here, right now. I’m not normal. I’m crazy and confused and unique and just a plain geek. I like things no one else really cares about (llamas, chocolate milk, torturing characters) and hate things that everyone thinks are standard (popularity, clean rooms, social lives).

However, I do shower regularly. Score one for Aloha.

Most of you I know from what I like to call my antisocial social life, YWP NaNoWriMo. Others are my rare real life friends. And, uh, hi, mom and dad.

If you happen to be someone like the President or Chris Baty (Yes, I place you both on the same level, I ❤ U, CHRIS!!), then you probably have something more important to do. I reccomend Write or Die.

If not, hiya. Hola, aloha, flame-e-o…… I speak fluent random-ese. Mostly with too much chocolate milk. (THAT, my dear crazies, is a tale for another time.)

You will learn things from reading this blog. You will learn exactly what Chuck Norris is capable of. You will learn what torturous things I’ve been up to lately in one of my many work-in-progress (aka PROCRASTINATED on) novels. You will learn things you never knew about llamas, life, and Lady Gaga parodies. You will learn exactly what one teen girl with too much chocolate milk and an open Word document is capable of.

You won’t learn anything that will actually apply to your life, in most cases, unless you plan to grow up and write a limitless array of Bad Romance spoofs. But you will learn.

………

I don’t actually know if I ever posted that Lady Gaga parody. Interesting. I’ll see if I can find it somewhere, although at the point I wrote that, I didn’t have my laptop yet, so it’s probably somewhere deep in the wild nether of The Desktop Files Shared By My Entire Family. Eerie, no?

* That’s for the half of my readership that consists of immediate family. HAHAHA. /idiot

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to That Stereotypical Sentimental Blog Anniversary Post

  1. Olivia says:

    In a
    Okay, I typed that, looked away from the screen, and when I turned back I had no idea what I was going to say. Anyway.
    It seems like it’s more than a year since I first came across Aloha’s World, and that was a few weeks after it began. Wow. Happy birthday, Embracing Insanity!

    • Aloha says:

      Thanks! It does seem like longer, doesn’t it? I love hearing from you and I THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for the incredible heart you have to take on the Blogspot EI while I was on hiatus. *megallamaglomp*

  2. Olivia says:

    Also… um… did you mean to spell the title that way…?

  3. xD This is hilarious. I love how all your old posts do not change in hilariousty (which is too a word, shut up spell check) Happy ONE YEAR! *shares cake* Oh and have a llama.*hands llama*

    • Aloha says:

      Thanks! I appreciate the llama, cake, and you sticking around for so long LOL

      Yeah, still same old conceited me. ;P

      • Haha xD I won’t be leaving anytime soon either.

        Oh and I was going to say this but I forgot. But I actually have learned from your blog! I’ve learned that to not wear glasses you can’t see out of… or wear yourself out. Haha. But I’ve also learned from your Kingdom Angst post and the posts your parents did.

      • Aloha says:

        Good to hear it!

        Oh, weren’t those from the clothing dos-and-don’t’s post I did a while back? Like when the guy wore the picture of himself? That was pretty funny.

        Thanks! I like the more serious posts, too. I’d like to do some more of that kind.

  4. annanm says:

    Happy Blogging Birthday/Anniversary/Celebratoriousness. Which is far too many syllables.
    Anyway, Congratulations on a year of sticking it out when it was hard, and a year of bringing joy to others. I present to you +100 internetz, and an imaginary llama farm. You deserve it. 😀

  5. Mercy says:

    *hands over Flaming Zucchini Cake of Awesome*
    http://dft.ba/-ei1yr
    (Cause, you know, Flaming Zucchini Cakes of Awesome are how all cool nerds celebrate their blogoversaries!)
    I actually remember that post, and I remember when I posted my first post and then later I was reading yours and I was like, This is awesome. Mine was lame. Why can’t I be awesome like Aloha?
    So, I’ve been your “twin” since almost the beginning of this blog, and now you’re … well, not exactly Supreme Dooming Ruler yet, but still awesome. I can’t believe it’s been a YEAR!
    I can still remember the original picture being, like, the Golden Gate bridge or something? And it was called Aloha’s World and the tagline was (I think) And you thought Earth was crazy.
    So, here’s to the first year, and many years more!

    • Aloha says:

      OH. MY. LLAMA’D. GOODNESS.

      I actually freaked out and jumped around and maybe shouted something about Hagrid’s buttcrack when I saw that. You are the COOLEST twin on the face of the PLANET and if I could glomp you to death you would be dead.

      True story. 😉

      Wow, you remember more than I do XD Thanks 😀 I was trying to remember the tagline. I went back and forth for a while…. but I’m pretty sure that was the first. And yes, the header was indeed the Golden Gate bridge 😛 No idea why; I’ve only been there once.

      Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  6. Autumn says:

    Congratulations on your blog birthday. “I speak fluent random-ese. Mostly with too much chocolate milk. (THAT, my dear crazies, is a tale for another time.) ” This was very funny to read, and I speak fluent random-ese too. Much to my family’s annoyance.
    ~
    Autumn

  7. ah, just an observation…the “llama” at the top of you post is actually an alpaca…a very cute alpaca though…I love and live with many llamas 🙂 I like your random musings!

    • Aloha says:

      You’re right 🙂 I’d actually forgotten, which is stupid because I took the picture last summer when we went to an alpaca farm (best. day. ever.). Thanks for pointing that out 😀 I’ll have to dig up a picture of a REAL llama now.

      I am so INSANELY jealous of you, with all your llamas XD Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

Leave a Reply

