HFG: Eragon

(Okay, I know that Murtagh’s way hotter, but I’m rereading the book for an English assignment and haven’t gotten that far yet 😀 So bear with me, and I’ll do Mr. Tall-Dark-and-Freakishly Handsome another day.)

Name: Eragon

Source: The Inheritance Cycle (Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr, Inheritance, all by Christopher Paolini)

Age: 15 at the start of the series

Personality: He’s generally curious, and has trouble taking his time to think before jumping into a fight. Eragon’s extremely loyal to his family and friends, and his dragon, Saphira.

And when he’s in love, he’s a bit of an (read: a total) idiot. ❤

Bio: Not much can be said without major spoilers. He was raised by his aunt and uncle when his mother abandoned him, and he never knew his father. Eragon spent his time helping his uncle and cousin with the harvest, until the day he found a dragon egg in the forest. His life would be changed forever….

Special skills: Magic, dragon riding, diplomacy, fighting (with sword & bow and arrow), looking hot in chainmail

NOT quite a skill: Impressing chicks, particularly elves.

Fangirl rant: It’s been two years since the most recent book was released (Brisingr came out in October of 2009), and we had NO new news on the final volume in the cycle until just recently. It’s set to come out in November…. which is part of the reason I’m rereading the books now. With all the plot twists and turns, unfulfilled foreshadowing, more enemies than ever before, and unrequited love, I’m interested to see how things will turn out.

Neat trivia: Christopher Paolini was only fifteen when he began working on Eragon as a skinny, homeschooled teenager. The book is now a #1 New York Times bestseller– he’s in his early twenties and he travels around the world doing promotional book tours. Inspirational much?

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Hot Fictional Guys You Should Know About, Misc. Posts, Nerd Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to HFG: Eragon

  1. November?! I knew it was coming out soon but that soon? Ack! Excuse me while I freak out. *squee* Looks like I have a series to re-read 🙂

    Anyway, I tagged you in a meme (and you also won a contest a while ago) on my blog so check it out 🙂

  2. Allegra says:

    Finally! An HFG from a series I’ve actually read! (Well, I knew about Peeta and Gale, but they were the only others.) I should probably reread the series, too, but honestly, I don’t think I have the time. Maybe I can just read Inheritance, then someday (like when I graduate high school…and college…) I can go back, read the first three books, and find out what just happened.
    I know! Isn’t Christopher Paolini’s story super-awesome? I read his author bio at least once a week to remind myself that it’s not impossible. He’s one of my heroes.

  3. Mercy says:

    In fourth grade, I wrote a fan letter to him (Christopher, not Eragon XD), and he actually wrote back. I thought that was like the coolest thing ever, but thinking back, I’m pretty sure it was a form letter. I’m not sure of that, though, because I’m not sure where said letter actually ended up.
    Even so, it was signed, so I’ve technically gotten his autograph. *fangirl*
    Anyway, have you seen the movie? I didn’t like it, but am curious to hear your interpretation of it.

  4. ZNZ says:

    I’ll just be sitting over here in the corner being extremely stoic…

  5. Liam Wood says:

    Very inspirational. And a very good (or, as the British have it, smashing good) read. Hate the movie, though. I was shouting out my critique all the way through: “Durza has maroon eyes, not blue! Brom’s horse is white, not gray! The Ra’zac have leathery skin, not crawling-with-maggots-decaying skin! Urgals have horns! I HATE YOU, MOVIE PRODUCER AND WRECKER!!!” It turns out that Paolini’s agent, Simon Lipskar, is a staff member at the Youth Orchestra group I’m in! Wow…

Leave a Reply

