HFG: Fang

Name: Fang Ride

Source: Maximum Ride (It used to be my favorite series… but after the latest book, I have… mixed feelings. The first three books or so are REALLY good. After that, the series degrades quickly into what feels like poorly-written fanfiction. Thoughts?)

Age: initially, 14.

Appearance: Tall, skinny, with “overlong black hair”. Dresses very emo-like, and his wings are black as well (yes, wings. It’s complicated; read the books).

Personality: Fang’s always very quiet, calm, observant, and collected. He’s extremely loyal and will do anything to protect those he loves. But he can seriously kick butt when he needs to.

Skills: flying, witty retorts, being stealthy, invisibility

Not-so-much: Babysitting, romance, grocery shopping

Rant: See above? Frustration with James Patterson for the last few books. If you’ve read them, I want your opinion.

But the first few are REALLY, REALLY, REALLY good. Seriously. They’re fast reads (over 400 pages, but you can easily finish in an hour and a half), because each chapter is only about two or three pages long. This keeps the suspense and action at the center of everything. Plus the font’s, like, size fourteen, and it’s extremely widely spaced.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Hot Fictional Guys You Should Know About and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to HFG: Fang

  1. JesterMangoz says:

    I LOVE Fang! Now I’m going to have to go back and read the first three again… I can’t stand Final Warning or any of the following books. And now I’m ticked at Patterson for making me like Dylan more than Fang in Angel. I wholeheartedly empathize with your statement that “the series degrades quickly into what feels like poorly-written fanfiction” after the first three books. He had such a great potential to become “the next J.K. Rowling” until he (in my opinion, at least) lost his marbles, starting with Final Warning.

  2. TayMik23 says:

    I completely agree with you. The first three books were awesome, but then all of that save-the-planet-and-not-in-the-stopping-bad-guys-way stuff came out of nowhere. It didn’t fit at all to me. And the plot really didn’t go anywhere, either, if I’m remembering correctly. I didn’t read Angel and I don’t think I’m going to.
    But Fang is awesome!

    • Katie says:

      I heard that Patterson had a ghost writer for The Final Warning and Max. I’m not saying I believe that but if it is the case, he might have been busy with life and knew that the fans wanted the next book or something so he hired a ghost writer. Probably the most stupidest idea yet, adding the fact that now they are saving the world from pollution and global warming and forgeting the fact that there is a evil villan afoot..

  3. Allegra says:

    The only James Patterson I’ve read is Witch & Wizard, and I’m planning on reading the second book in that series, as well. Have you read the W&W series? Is Maximum Ride better, worse, or about the same?

  4. annanm says:

    I’m unfamiliar with the books, but is the series actually wholly written by James Patterson, or James Patterson with a co-author? Because it seems to me like the guy just pumps out too many novels to not have co-conspirators. Though I haven’t read anything by him, I’m always wary of author’s who put out too much work; it’s the whole quantity over quality principle. It might start off with the greatest intentions, but a lot of projects get left by the wayside, not reaching their full-potentials.
    …Wait, how did a post about a HFG turn into an author rant?

  5. rachanasreveals says:

    i LOVE the maximum ride series!!! fang was awesome. i haven’t read the last book yet…

  6. Alice Mellark says:

    Well, I was going to start reading the series, because Hope told me the series was really good, and it sounded good. But last summer was when I discovered The Hunger Games, and I got hooked on that, and so now I am just reading it over and over again. I don’t think I will be reading Maximum Ride soon, although I will try.

Leave a Reply

