“There’s a corpse in our classroom!!”

This morning started off normally. I woke up late, jumped in the shower, ran for the bus, and made it to class in time for Japanese lessons at eight fifteen. I was the first one to get there, so I sat around and waited with my copy of Of Mice and Men (finished it today), and people gradually showed up. When seven or eight people had gathered, including the instructor, we decided to move into the classroom next door so the Biology students could do their labs without the constant “REPEAT AFTER ME, HA-JI-ME-MA-SHI-TE….. GOOD, NOW AGAIN”. The Japanese club president walked next door to get the notes set up, and we waited, talking amongst ourselves.

Not five seconds later, she bursts back into the room. “GUYS, THERE’S A CORPSE IN THERE!” she screamed, panic written all over her face. “I-It’s lying in a pool of blood, facedown, and– MRS. R, THERE’S A DEAD PERSON IN THERE!!” She rushed over to my teacher and started freaking out. The rest of us were half panicked, half very, very confused.

Until my teacher started laughing–laughing!–at the club president. “Ahh, forgot to mention. Forensics is doing a lab today. Don’t touch anything.”

Turns out, it was a mannequin lying facedown in a pool of fake blood. We had to go into the classroom and spend the next fifty minutes reciting Japanese syllables next to this realistic-looking crime scene.

This is my life.

On another note, I think I have a general idea or two for NaNoWriMo, which makes me happy. Both of my [most] solid plots are actually the result of last year’s brainstorming– this time in 2010, I had way too MANY ideas. Now it’s the opposite.

I’m going to develop the characters and plotlines for both novel ideas, then decide which I’d rather write for NaNo. I’m just glad to have a place to start now.

For those of you who have an excess of ideas all the time, what’s your secret? Any tips to generating them? Even if your brainstorming sessions involve spinning around clockwise, drinking blue Kool-Aid, spraying the back of your left arm with bug spray, and writing out the Constitution in binary, I’m willing to try anything.

I’d also like to hear your opinions on Of Mice and Men, if you’ve read it, particularly the ending. I’m still trying to decide whether I like it or not, but the more I think about it the more satisfying it is.

“Knowledge is knowing that tomatoes are a fruit;

Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad. “

-Unknown

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “There’s a corpse in our classroom!!”

  1. Olivia says:

    XD Oh dear. That’s rather funny, and yet it would be terrifying if that’s really what she thought it was. o.O

    I do have one trick for spinning an overpopulation of stories that never fails me. Write one.

    XD

  2. Liam Wood says:

    I have two tricks for getting new ideas:
    1. Twist an old storyline, for example, instead of having the good guy always defeat the bad, why not have the bad guy always defeat the good? As you can see, this one rarely is good for much more than a laugh.
    2. Put two completely opposite ideas together, for example, did you know that honey is actually bee mucus? Once again, good for a laugh.
    Another tip is just, write anything down.

  3. Haha, that’s hilarious 😀

    And I’m ignoring the NaNo part, I’m still procrastinating.

    But I have read Of Mice and Men. I liked the theme but I don’t know… I liked it but I didn’t. But it was good 😀 Too much swearing though, especially taking the Lord’s name in vain .That was kind of irritating.

  4. christicorbett says:

    Super impressed you made your 8:15 AM class!

    I don’t really have anything to share on the getting inspired with new ideas area, but I don’t recommend sitting in front of a blank screen. If the blinking cursor is mocking you, get up, get moving, and ideas will flow.

    Christi Corbett

  5. bongirl says:

    I go to school at around half past seven in the morning, but I haven’t seen any dead bodies outside the Forensics class yet.
    Although, come to think of it, there is a “blood”-spattered lab coat and photos in a display case on the wall of the science building….

  6. annanm says:

    Your school just won awesome points for staging fake crime scenes. Probably just a little disconcerting though in the wee hours of the morning.
    NaNo-wise… though it won’t be terribly inspirational, you can try looking at prompt generators, sifting through until something resonates and strikes an idea.
    I’m going to have to read Of Mice and Men now. It’s one of those books that I’ve meant to read, but just haven’t gotten around to yet. I know my dad’s been telling me for a while that I’d like it; guess I’ll have to pick up a copy.

Leave a Reply

