I Don’t Know What to Call This, But It’s About Music

I waited for an hour for inspiration to strike about the title. It’s almost midnight now, and I have nothing, so you’ll have to deal with this ;P

When I say I love music, my iTunes account is my primary witness. It has everything from Tears for Fears to Vocaloid love songs, Linkin Park to Bowling for Soup to The Buggles, and everything in between. Ballads, instrumentals, theme songs, soundtracks, acoustic to screamo.

As I was sitting here at my desk, doing my homework to a playlist of Fullmetal Alchemist OSTs (original soundtracks), I started to wonder what it was about the music that attracted me. Is it the art, or the science? Why do I– or for that matter, why does anyone— pay money for a non-tangible product? It’s unique to the world, a thriving industry that you can’t see or touch. And its widespread nature is unique to the 21st century, where people download songs as fast as artists can release them.

After thinking for a while, I eventually decided that it’s the nature of music’s flexibility that makes it appeal to us, in every state. If you’re happy, you’ll listen to All Caps or Mercy Me. If you’re angsty, there’s Nickelback or Fireflight, and if you’re lovesick you have Vanessa Carlton or Taylor Swift. The nerds gravitate to Tom Leher and Hank Green, while the cooler kids stick to LMFAO or Bruno Mars.

It might be the only non-tangible trade in the world, but it’s also the most versatile. Music is constantly evolving to incorporate more styles and appeal to wider audiences. Even though it’s been around ever since the dawn of man, it hasn’t gotten stale or fallen through the cracks of history like so many other traditions. It can make you laugh, cry, or dance.

Music is powerful.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Don’t Know What to Call This, But It’s About Music

  1. TayMik23 says:

    Oh my goodness. Thank you so much for mentioning MercyMe. They are the music I grew up with.

  2. Liam Wood says:

    No, the nerds go with classical. BEETHOVEN ROCKS!!!

  3. annanm says:

    And the hipsters go with some really obscure genre and band that you’ve probably never heard of.
    I’ve come to grips with the fact that music wise, that’s me.

Leave a Reply

