The Thing About Birthdays

I was talking to my mom about this earlier, and she agreed with me (though I’m not surprised): birthdays really shouldn’t be celebrated by the person who was born that day.

When you think about it, however-many-years-ago today I just slipped into the world. My mom was the one doing all the work, being brave, ignoring the fear and pain to get me where I am. So why are we celebrating me?

I understand the concept of having a day for your family and friends to appreciate you as a person. But the word “birth day” seemsΒ unnecessary. Oh, wow, congrats on being born. You don’t even remember it. Let’s eat cake.

I don’t hate birthdays or anything, it just seems that they should be renamed, and “birthday” reserved for the moms that actually did work that day.

Of course, I had cheesecake for breakfast (and as an after-school snack), so I’m not complaining.

Happy belated birthday, Mercy! Happy slightly-early birthday, JesterMangoz! Happy somewhat-early birthday to Anna!

If you leave your birthday in the comments, I’ll make a note of it for future reference.

And I’ll send your mom a card.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Thing About Birthdays

  1. Autumn says:

    Happy birthday! My birthday is July 6th. Oh, yeah and I’m Australian so not sure of time and date difference. πŸ™‚
    ~
    Autumn

  2. Janece says:

    Happy birthday to you πŸ™‚ Unlike your mom, I think there are a million and two reasons to celebrate one’s birthday – the primary reason being that one’s day of birth is the grand unveiling of an as-yet-to-be-realized human spirit who’s decided to enter the world of the physical in order to fully express a unique aspect of the Divine Nature.

    And to figure out if, indeed, doing the Hokey Pokey really IS what it’s all about. πŸ™‚

  3. Mercy says:

    Thanks!
    I’ve actually thought about this more than once. What about people who are adopted, or those whose mothers are dead? And if we’re congratulating the mothers, why not congratulate the doctors and everyone that helped? It’s not a perfect system, but it’s just the easiest way to celebrate these things.

  4. annanm says:

    Thanks, Aloha!
    My thoughts on birthday celebrations: Every kid deserves a day that can be completely theirs, where they get to feel special. Kids too need a day to be told they are appreciated, because unfortunately they may not hear this on other occasions.
    Plus, if birthdays were celebrated only by mothers there would be a great inequality; birthdays would be celebrated by less than half of the adult population, many of these women celebrating on multiple days. That’s not fair! :p

  5. That’s exactly what I realized earlier this year. I’ve been pondering on what to do since then… Although I guess it’s kind of like everyone saying that they’re glad that you’re alive. Which I do on Mother’s day and her birthday… And my birthday is 7-11 but I’ll probably be blogging about it at least a week before the fateful day πŸ™‚

  6. JesterMangoz says:

    Thanks so much for the birthday wishes! And right back at ya. πŸ™‚ I love reading your posts — they’re full of different perspectives on what we take for ordinary aspects of our lives. They always make me think, which is a good quality in any written material. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

