Nola’s My Rolling Girl

Tonight I was checking my email before going to blog, and I had my YouTube playlist of favorite songs on. As the song “Rolling Girl” (a Vocaloid song, but I was listening to an English version) came on, it suddenly clicked. This is my novel. It fits my protagonist almost perfectly, her emotions and general outlook.

To me, this song talks about a girl who’s struggling to stay on top of life– things seem to be falling apart and she doesn’t know who to trust or what to do. All she knows is that she has to carry on through the pain, so she becomes determined to “roll on”, even if she can only use the momentum of her limbs to pull her forward.

I love the song by itself, and it just hit me how Nola (my NaNo protag) feels the same way. She rules a kingdom that’s falling apart, and without her newly-deceased brother at her side, she doesn’t know where to turn. Her subjects want her to step down, but she knows that there’s a solution to both the internal and external wars raging around her, if only she can figure it out before she’s lynched.

The funny thing is, this has happened to me twice before with other novels. First was Lost World, although I actually realized how the song fit the plot back when it was an RP on the YWP site (I got permission from everyone to tweak it and write it as a book). That was Hold On by tobyMac, and it inspired the rest of the book.

The same thing happened during Embracing Insanity, last year’s NaNo novel. It’s kind of embarrassing, actually, that the song that rang true for that one was Nobody’s Perfect by Hannah Montana.

I’m not sure if I totally over-interpret things because my mind’s in noveling mode, or if it’s my love of music that tries to fit the lyrics to the plot I’m working on. Either way, I find that whenever I find that particular song that resonates, if I’m feeling discouraged or bored with the book, I can just listen to it on repeat.

Even if something doesn’t hit me immediately, it reminds me how I’m not totally crazy. Or, if I am, it tells me that that’s okay.

Is there a song, or group of songs, that reminds you of your novel? If not, do you have a noveling playlist that works for you? How does music influence your writing (emotionally and otherwise)?

Word Count: About four pages right now- uncalculated. I need to catch up big-time over the weekend, but I’ve had tests every day this week.

General Mood: Behind, but other than that, it’s going well. I just need more time in the day to write. Let’s petition Obama for 25 hours every day in November, k?

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nola’s My Rolling Girl

  1. melsar93 says:

    When I saw the title of your post my first thought was that it was going to be about New Orleans (NOLA). Character name makes more sense.

  2. storymultiverse says:

    This is actually one of my favorite Miku songs. It’s on my writing playlist, along with Matryoshka– and a whole lot of other songs as well.

  3. That is so awesome how that worked out 😀 I don’t have songs for whole novels but I do have songs for my characters. There’s this kind of sad romance between two of my characters in the trilogy I’m finish this year and their song is totally the Scientist by Coldplay. Then I have another character in a different novel who’s a kind of sad, angsty, ex drug-addict who’s song is Boy by Hawthorne Heights. I really love when that happens because when you listen to that song while writing it’s so much easier to get into your characters head and write them with more personality or have them act how they are easier.

  4. Pingback: A Novel Concept | Embracing Insanity

Leave a Reply

