New Hunger Games Trailer–Perfection?

In case they’ve taken that link down due to copyright restrictions, here’s an article with another trailer.

When I heard they were releasing another Hunger Games trailer during Good Morning America today, I’ll admit that I was worried. The last one left me disappointed–it was too short, too narrow, too non-inclusive, just Katniss and then Gale’s voice. Jennifer Lawrence looked weird as Katniss, and I wasn’t sure about the quality or accuracy of the movie.

This erased all those doubts. I had never cried during a movie trailer before. Poignant, brilliant, detailed, chilling, exhilarating… Usually commercials don’t fit any of those, but this HG trailer was incredible.

I’d been skeptical of Lenny Kravitz as Cinna. Even though I love Kravitz for his music, I’d always pictured Cinna as a flamboyant, wimpy-looking white man. His whole feel in the trailer is different– I can picture him more as a mentor and inspiration to Katniss now, and I like this new Cinna a lot more.

Both Hemsworth and Hutcherson seem to have embraced their roles, and look their respective parts. Effie Trinket is older than I always imagined her, and I didn’t think of President Snow as having a beard, but those are minor things and only based on my opinions of the characters while reading the books.

District 12 looks great–the Seam is just how I imagined it. The Capitol’s awesome too, and the training center looks high-tech and flashy. The .004 seconds we saw of the Arena looked accurate, and I love the way they showed the tubes rising at the start of the Games. Altogether, I adore the giant scope of this trailer.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Hunger Games Trailer–Perfection?

  1. Mercy says:

    I think you put the wrong video up … XD

  2. I’m so glad I wasn’t the only one that cried. Then I was shaky for an hour afterwards and I kept freaking out and telling my mom all about it. Oh my goodness. Gale ❤ Peeta! ❤ And oh my gracious Prim ❤ And even Katniss ❤ ❤ ❤ There's really no way I can express the awesomeness. *cries some more*

  3. Alice Hutcherson Mellark says:

    Best. Trailer. Ever. Everyone in the trailer is amazing, especially Josh Hutcherson <3!! ^_^ When the movie comes I will be crying and screaming at the same time probably… or I will just burst into flames.

  4. annanm says:

    Ok, I really disliked the book (I hated Katniss for always saying “Peeta and me.” PEETA AND I, KATNISS!), but the trailer does look pretty epic.
    Also, I think Donald Sutherland is like the go-to for any movie that needs a president/rich man CEO. And is that Elizabeth Banks as Effie?
    End point is, book irked me. Most likely will see the movie.

  5. Pingback: Hunger Games Trailer Review Roundup | My Hunger Games

  6. Kirsten says:

    I totally cried at the Reaping scene. This was the best trailer I have ever seen in my entire life (maybe). But it was really good, all I want is MORE PEETA. Also, I thought Effie looked weird but Capitol-y, and all the characters are great. I actually think that Lenny Kravitz will be a great Cinna now, which I didn’t think before. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

