Teen-Approved Vegetarian Meals

(I was going to give Mike a list of simple recipes for his Vegetarian Week, which I’m totally looking forward to. But it would be, as fellow bloggers and I often joke, a “comment post”, so I decided to make it into an actual post. You should go check out his blog for the opinions of someone who actually knows how to cook.)

I have at least nine vegetarian cookbooks, because people have given them to me as birthday and Christmas presents from the time I was seven or so. I probably use them collectively twice a year.

 Mostly I rely on Morning Star, Healthy Choice, and Amy’s meals as a main dish, then eat the sides (ex. rice and salad) that Mom makes for the rest of the family. As a result, though, I’ve memorized the microwave times for Tomato Basil Burgers (1:15), Fake Chickin’ Patties (1:30), Veggie Chikin’ Nuggets (1:45 for four), Vegetarian Pot Pies (5:15), Veggie Corn Dogs (1:15) and my personal favorite/total addiction, Pumpkin Squash Ravioli (1:15).

Most of the issue, though, is that I’m too busy and too lazy to cook these beautifully elaborate meals from the cookbooks. So I’ll post some here, in case some of you have extra time and/or vegetarians to feed. (Although if it’s for Thanksgiving, tofurky is definitely the way to go. I don’t know a single vegetarian that doesn’t like it, and I eat Thanksgiving dinner with a roomful of extremist vegans every year. “Lowfat soy-based ice cream on gleuten- and sugar-free pumpkin pie, anyone?!”)

Without further rambling…. I’m going to type these into Google Docs and then link them here, just so this post doesn’t look like a novel.

Vegetarian Sloppy Joes from The Teen’s Vegetarian Cookbook (Judy Krizmanic, 1999)

Sweetcorn and Potato Chowder from Veggie Kids (Roz Denny, 2002)

Tofu Spread from Better Than Peanut Butter and Jelly (Wendy Muldawer and Marty Mattare, 1998)

And I saved the best for last. This is the meal that my non-vegetarian family members love to eat, and Mom will make for special occasions. Mmm, it’s the metaphorical BOMB of vegetarian cooking.

Ratatouille Rumbletum from Veggie Kids (Roz Denny, 2002)

Hope this helps! Let me know if you have any other good meal ideas– hey, even vegetarian teenagers need to eat.

Conversation I’ve Had at One Point or Another With Every Person I’ve Ever Met In My Life:

Bystander: Hey, try this bacon.

Aloha: No, that’s okay, I’m a vegetarian.

B: What?! How can you stand not eating bacon?!

A: I haven’t eaten meat in over ten years–I honestly don’t remember what bacon tastes like.

B: o.0 You’re crazy! I would never be able to do that.

A: Anyone can be a vegetarian with a little effort–

B: Oh, I was a vegetarian for a week when I was eight. But I just love meat too much, y’know?

A: ….

B: Mmmm, this is some delicious bacon…. Sure you don’t want some?

A: Dude. I’m good. Thanks.

B: Mmmmm, bacon….

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Teen-Approved Vegetarian Meals

  1. melsar93 says:

    Thanks for the recipes! I will totally be making Ratatouille Rumbletum. Of course I might have to add some bacon.

    Mmmmmm, Bacon….

  2. melsar93 says:

    ummm…Aloha, whats a courgette?

  3. melsar93 says:

    “mixed fresh herbs” seems a little vague? (Can you tell I am a programmer?) What have you used?

    • melsar93 says:

      Also having never purchased tofu before do you have any advice? Is there a brand that is better? Sorry for all the questions, but I usually plan these meals weeks out.

      • Aloha says:

        Yeah, sorry for the late recipes XD If I’d remembered you were doing Vegetarian Week, I would have sent them to you months ago.

        As for the tofu, *checks pantry* we have the Mori-nu Silken Tofu (extra firm), but I’ve tried a lot of things that turned out well. In personal experience, the firmer the tofu, the easier it is to cut/cube, and the less sloppy it is to deal with. Look for something in a rectangular box, because those are less likely to fall apart.

        A couple things about tofu: 1) don’t get grossed out by its initial appearance– it’s really good cooked!, 2) don’t be afraid to add a lot of flavor, because it’s pretty bland without it, and 3) always error on the side of overcooking. Raw, or even undercooked tofu can be pretty nasty.

        Also, it does NOT go well with cheese and mayonnaise on a tortilla.

      • melsar93 says:

        Thanks for the tofu advice. I will be making the Ratatouille Rumbletum next week. My biggest fear is that everyone likes it and I have to add it to my repertoire.

    • Aloha says:

      Mom says she just uses Italian seasoning with rosemary and thyme and stuff or something.

      To be honest, when I make it I leave out the herbs– it seems pointless, plus I like bland food. I guess you should just put whatever sounds good in there. Sorry I can’t be more help!

  4. Hmm… I might try these recipes for the fun of it but I don’t think I could be a vegetarian. Not because of bacon either =D I just don’t see a point in it and I really like fish. I actually don’t like bacon very much *shrugs*

    • Aloha says:

      I challenge you to! If you do, take pictures and post them. That would be awesome.

      I understand that being a vegetarian’s not for everyone 🙂 Even if bacon’s not involved. XD

      • Why must you challenge me? *glares* Just kidding but now I actually will… Eventually. XD Hey, I should make it for the Christmas party my family is doing in Christmas. Surprise everyone with some vegetarian things.

        One of my great aunts is actually a vegetarian but it’s a different kind. She lives essentially on salad. Serious. But that’s why she’s alive today. She hasn’t had meat in I think about fifteen years or longer.

  5. Sloppy Joes look good… 😀 I’m not completely vegetarian, but I try to be. I was going to get my dad to pick up vegetarian chili, but it had wheat as thickener, which meant my mom couldn’t have it, and then I tried something else, but the store didn’t have it, blahblahblah. I’m trying to find a vegan gravy recipe (that actually sounds good) for Thanksgiving right now…

    I’m rambling again, aren’t I?

    • Aloha says:

      Hm, vegan gravy…. There’s probably a good recipe out there, but I don’t know what it is. The most I know about vegetarian Thanksgivings is the tofurky– other than that, I just show up and eat the food XD

  6. Pingback: Getting Fancy with the Spices « The Mike/Mitch Project

Leave a Reply

