The Benefits of Blogging Anonymously

There are four types of bloggers in the world. Those who use their real names and faces, those who create aliases to post, and those who can’t count to save their lives.

That being said, most of the bloggers I associate with use nicknames and aliases. Why? Because 1) we’re still minors, 2) we’ve all heard the horror stories about kids getting abducted for being idiots on Facebook (“Hey, I’m walking by myself down the deserted I-35 to hang out at a shady convenience store at 5:36 pm without a cell phone. TTYL!”), and 3) because when you use an alias it kind of feels like you’re Clark Kent. Except instead of being half-spider, you just kind of blog.

However, I also know people who blog openly using their real name, pictures, sending and receiving packages from home addresses, etc. Most (actually, all, I believe) of these are adults, and the majority of them are either professional writers using a blog to publicize their work and gain a fanbase, or 9-to-5 workers who want to create a positive internet reputation.

Then there’s the in-betweens: using your first name as a username but disclosing no more personal information, being open about name and age, sharing name+age+pictures but no contact info save email, etc.

It’s really personal preference, it seems. For me, I use an alias, don’t post pictures, up until last week blocked search engines (‘rents just approved the change so I could garner a few more subscribers, hopefully), and have a separate email account for blog-related correspondence.

The funny thing is, I don’t find myself lacking in the community and friendship aspects that come with blogging. Maybe it’s because most of my friends have more or less the same privacy settings? Regardless, I don’t feel like I have less of a friend in people just because I don’t know their actual name, or where they live, or what they look like. The great thing about the anonymous blogging community is that you can develop relationships without the prejudice that comes with appearance. It’s solely based on your intellect, views, and interests.

That’s part of the reason, I believe, that it’s so easy to bridge the usual social gaps on the internet. Who cares if you’re older, or younger, or obese, or an emperor of a small country? If you have an opinion that can be backed by facts, know the difference between “your” and “you’re”, and possess even a miniscule bit of talent for writing, you can be respected and voice what you believe.

Say what you will about anonymous social networking, but that’s the beauty of it.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Llamas and Rambling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Benefits of Blogging Anonymously

  1. It is beautiful. I really liked being completely anonymous. I still use an alias but showing my face has basically removed the ‘secretive’ part of it even though I still don’t say exactly where I live or use my last name. But I do agree πŸ™‚ It is nice knowing that words are powerful enough so that you don’t need to see the face behind the words. (Or the man behind the curtains.)

  2. annanm says:

    I love the anonymity of blogging. Being able to hear people’s (hopefully) real voice through their writing, without placing any expectations upon them based on appearance is a wonderful thing. It allows these people to be accepted for who they are, regardless of whether they go by The Llama Wrangler or Mary. It is truly a beautiful thing.

    (Small gripe though: Clark Kent is Superman. Peter Parker is Spiderman, hence half-spider. What? I’m not a geek! I just so happen to see 95% of superhero movies that come out. I blame my former-comic book nerd dad.)

    • Haha, the last bit I noticed as well. I just thought she was trying to put in two super hero references.

      //ignore this\\

    • Aloha says:

      Agreed, completely!

      Okay, okay, I’m putting a disclaimer in today’s post. My mom pointed that out to me as she was reading the post over breakfast yesterday…. ACK! Ask me anything about Oscar Wilde or any anime character, and I know it instantly. Marvel Superheroes? I fail.

      Thanks though πŸ˜€

  3. JesterMangoz says:

    I really do hope that you know the difference between Clark Kent and Peter Parker, Aloha. I’m not sure how much longer our friendship can endure if you genuinely thought Clark Kent was Spiderman’s alias.

    (Just kidding; it would take something much larger to put a damper on our relationship than a small mix up of superhero alter-egos. Like the inability to count to three, for example.)

    • Aloha says:

      I KNOW, I KNOW XD I could normally tell the difference…. I just wasn’t paying attention. (And the counting was on purpose, FYI, LOL.)

      I’m glad you’re putting so much stock in our friendship, haha. Nice to know you’d still accept me if I was slightly ignorant about Marvel comics.

      • JesterMangoz says:

        Actually, Superman (Clark Kent) is featured in the DC comics, not Marvel. *shakes head in disbelief*

        (And I knew about the counting; I was just being my cocky little self. :))

      • Aloha says:

        I should know THAT, too, considering I was just reading a book written by one of the DC Comics creators…. Wow. I suck. LOL.

  4. Mercy says:

    I started my blog before my parents knew about it, but I used an alias not because I wanted to be safer on the internet, but because I didn’t really want people I knew reading it unless I told them about it. It’s one thing to share your innermost feelings and writing with a complete stranger, but it’s completely another to share it with people who know you in different contexts. Does that make sense?
    And then later, my mom was all “I don’t want you using your real name or putting any pictures of yourself up or anything!” and I was like, sure. Fine. Already done.

    • Aloha says:

      Definitely! I also started my blog before my parents knew about it, and I feel the exact same way about sharing your thoughts. I try to avoid giving my URL out to people I know IRL. Exceptions are fellow bloggers (because they understand, plus I get to troll their blogs) and immediate family (because I force them to guest-post and also mom catches stupid little mistakes I make like thinking Clark Kent and Spiderman were one and the same.)

      Same! I wish I had a bit more flexibility, but so far it hasn’t been too much of a problem.

      • JesterMangoz says:

        She didn’t catch that particular mistake fast enough. πŸ™‚ And you need to check out my blog!

      • Aloha says:

        Yeah, I’m subscribed by email so I’ve read every post πŸ™‚ I just haven’t had a chance to pop over and comment yet. Once it hits the weekend and I have more time to peruse the interwebs, you can bet I’ll be barreling through to your comment fields.

  5. ZNZ says:

    I use a pseudonym. I share my age (14), but not my email address (because I only have one and it’s got my last name and I don’t want to make another one). I treasure my anonymity.

Leave a Reply

