Being Thankful Year-Round

Next week will mark the first time I’ve ever seen one of the Seven Wonders of the World in person–we’re going to the Grand Canyon over Thanksgiving. Talk about being grateful for the world we live in, right?

All the preparations to travel have gotten me thinking about Thanksgiving a little earlier than usual (read: more than a day in advance). I know people always tell you to think about things you appreciate and people you love on the 24th, but that’s never made any sense to me. Like I forget all the things I appreciate, and the people I love spending time with, the other 364 days of the year?

It’s probably just the same deal as Christmas and every other overcommercialized holiday. They try to play off your emotions so you’ll spend more money, and the best way to do that is to emphasize how important that particular day is, and how it’s worth your wallet.

A good thing to keep in mind, though, is to be thankful all the time. If anything, Thanksgiving should be nothing more than a time to spend with your family to reinforce how much you care about them. It shouldn’t be news to them. If your actions speak for your emotions every other day of the year, Thanksgiving doesn’t become overwhelming; instead, it’s a simple day for enjoying good company and good food.

Since I got that out, I only have one other thing to say:

SKYWARD SWORD. SUNDAY.

*runs around screaming*

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

