Calm Before the Storm

It’s October, guys. Y’all know what that means.

Plot holes to work out, charie profiles to create, RPs to join, homework to procrastinate on, babynames.com to peruse looking for the perfect moniker for your antagonist.

And yet, it’s the calm before the storm. November is when it all really kicks into gear. But for me, October’s almost harder. There’s more cause to put stuff off. You think, Oh, there’s still almost a month until that doomy little thing called NaNoWriMo.

How wrong you are, you thinking person. There’s just over twenty days. This is nothing if you’re like me and procrastinate on everything.

Normal authors can take up to years of planning, writing, editing, and such before they’re published. Good thing we’re not normal, eh? But seriously, I just got my protagonist a name about four minutes ago, after reading four Wikipedia pages on the time period I’m writing my novel in. And my antagonist I named yesterday. My other supporting character I have so far, I named her a while ago. But she was easier.

I would like to introduce you all to Nicholas, my protagonist from NaNo ’10. Along with the lovely Aaliyah, his best friend/coworker, and Stephan, the not-so-wicked antagonist.

This novel isn’t going to be like anything I’ve done before. Brite Starr was too perky, happy-go-lucky, Mary-Sue all around. Lost World was pretty much just proving how many deaths a teen girl can cram into 15,000 words. This is (hopefully) going to be a happy medium.

I don’t want to give any spoilers yet, as to my plot and all, but it’s going to be pretty epic. It’s Historical Fiction, so I’m going to have to do a lot of research. And Aaliyah is deaf, which means more work on my part as far as alternative dialog.

My dad said the best thing to do would probably be to section off two hours every night in November for noveling– an hour for research, character building, plot-hole-sewing, and idea generating. Then an hour for actual writing.

In addition, I’ll be writing through every class, ignoring teachers in a mad attempt to hit 50k by the end of the month. And my writing teacher’s letting us write in class. Not to mention I’ll be writing on the bus, late into the night, early in the morning….

This November is going to be epic. It’s also going to be painful.

I didn’t get the proof copy for Brite Starr, and since I did LW as a JunNo, that didn’t count, either. This year I’m really hoping to get a proof copy.

If you see me reference EoL, that’s short for my title. No more details until November, or when I finally crack and spill my whole plot. =)

How are you guys faring? Have protag, antag, side charie names? Getting geared up for the big month? Have you run across any difficulties? Are you procrastinating as badly as me?

On the plus side, this new Virtual Classroom thing is pretty sweet. Now I have a whole set of forums just for my class. (Of course, it’s only me, my teacher, and one other kid, so far… but I’m sure more will join. If not, *shrug* It’s not like I have to RP with my writing teacher or anything.)

Sorry for the lack of posts lately, I’ve been really busy. Next week is fall break, and we get it off from school, but I’m flying up to visit my grandparents. I’ll blog whenever I can, though. And check the little bar thinggy under the title, I’m adding pages left and right.

If you have anything to contribute to the UFAQ, I’d love to answer some random questions. Or if you just want to chat. NaNoMail or email me, I love to talk. Well, virtually. You know what I mean.

AlohaFowl out=)

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Calm Before the Storm

  1. I don’t have a name for my MC or pretty much anything else besides the name of their species, but I’ve been dying to use the name Simon Harper for awhile now. I think that he should be a friend and NOT a love interest, but I don’t know … the name might make a good antagonist too …
    When is the rest of I’m the Nut? Or did I somehow miss it?

  2. Nia says:

    Main character: Jane Ruben
    Supporting characters: Hart [something], [Foster Mom], [Foster Dad], [Cat].
    Antagonist: [Unknown]

    Yep. o.o I’ve only named one and a half characters.

    And the cat is very, very, very important. Just so you know.

    *Considers names*

    • AlohaFowl says:

      Awesome!! My favorite way to find names is either look through the yearbook or go on babynames.com or something like that. *spazz*

      • Nia says:

        Hart Otuni. 😛

        I love baby naming sites. xD Although you have to be really careful going to those anytime someone who does not know you very well is near… I’ve had some, er, weird experiences.

        *Which leads her to think of other stuff**mind jump jump jump*

  3. Bush says:

    Baha, that’s funny Nia. xD

    Well… I have a semi plot. I’ve got my protag and the whole story, but I don’t have an antag and his whole story… mine’s a spy novel, with a different twist. Should prove interesting. Should write an outline… *cant help but feel John Flanagan’s prodding about that* I should also finish last year’s nano… *prods self*

  4. Tigers Eyes says:

    I have about 10 plots. o.O And its’ nearly nano….

Leave a Reply

