December Means Winter. And the End of NaNoWriMo.

I’m not sure how I feel about this.

On one hand, I’m sad. I love the thrill, the intoxicating magic of November. I love the writing panic and the word wars and getting to tell people, “Not now. I’m writing a novel.”

Then again, I’m looking forward to actually getting some sleep for the next eleven or so months.

….and catching up on the schoolwork I kinda skimped on during National Novel Writing Month. I have a Spanish oral today I’ve barely studied for. I woke up to study… and somehow ended up blogging. Eh, that’s what lunch period’s for, no?

December also means winter. It means Christmas trees (we put ours up earlier this week), the bright lights (our neighborhood is full of them  and it sparkles), and snow (if you count that on my blog page, cuz we ain’t gettin’ it here).

It means winter break in two weeks, and it means that peaceful time of year when you can gather around the fire in your robes with your cocoa and enjoy time as a family.

It also means freezing my butt off whenever I go to the barn or we ride our Vespas.

It means finally understanding the significance and blessing of a hot shower.

It means Winter Point Show, which is Sunday.

It means charity. It means kindness. It means the homeless night we hosted at church on Sunday, and the fundraiser we’re having on Saturday.

It means I have to remember to stop making myself smoothies as a quick breakfast to take to the bus stop every morning. Even if they’re made out of Eggnog, smoothies aren’t so pleasant when it’s 40 degrees outside.

It means seeing your breath (good to know it’s always there!)

It means settling down for that odd little stage between NaNo and Screnzy where you’re not quite sure what to do. It means adding to your novel, editing and revising, getting it ready for CreateSpace.

It means mistletoe. For the normal people. There’s no online equivilant, so I’ll skip it.

It means sleep. It means contentment.

But mostly sleep.

DOOM LLAMA

AlohaFowl

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to December Means Winter. And the End of NaNoWriMo.

  1. Nia says:

    I love NaNo, but I also love sleep.

    And it’s not like you have to stop writing when NaNo’s over, so I’m okay. XD

    You left out hot chocolate on the winter list!

  2. Yes, sleep. It’s been amazing, this NaNo lessnessness. Not sure what to call it… Suddenly, I have time! I’m not sure what to do with myself… so I’ve been reading a lot and it’s been so fun. But NaNo is over and I have a novel in my computer! Now, I get to edit. But I have TIME to do it! Yeah, it’s pretty much awesome and sad at the same time.

  3. Tigers Eyes says:

    Hm…. I MISS NANO!!
    And I did get a relative amount of sleep this nano… xD
    On a different note, I’m looking forward to snow, never seen it before =P

    • Aloha says:

      Really? Wow. I’ve seen it before, not where I live, but in North Dakota and northern AZ.
      Well, there’s snow on my blog, if that counts at all =D

  4. Bush says:

    SNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *Chases snow around Aloha’s blog* *is an ignorant aussie who has never seen “real” snow*

    “seeing your breath”… Baha! 😀 I love seeing foggy breath… *breathes out* but we won’t see that for another…. 5 months.

  5. Nia says:

    *Tosses snowballs at Bushy and Tiger*

Leave a Reply

