60 Minutes

“What would you do if you only had an hour left to live?”

Well, my friends, I considered this. I took a swig of chocolate milk. And I considered it some more.

An hour. Sixty minutes. 3,600 seconds. 3,600,000 miliseconds. 3,600,000,000,000 nanoseconds.

NaNoseconds. Irony of life, eh?

Well, I believe the first thing I would NOT do if I had only an hour to live would be to calculate that to the nanosecond.

Secondly, I would blog about it. Take ten of those minutes to outline how much you guys have meant to me, what a great time I’ve had during my too-short life, encourage y’all with some sappy inspirational paragraph, etc. The only thing that would suck is that I couldn’t wait for the comments. (Although I believe this would be an exception to the “wait at least an hour before commenting or you look like an internet creeper” rule.)

Then I’d take another five minutes posting the link to this farewell post on the YWP, sending it to all my email contacts, etc.

Wow, just wasted a quarter of my remaining life.

Then I’d have my mom drive me out to the barn to say goodbye to my horse. On the way, since I’d be wasting a ten minute commute both ways, I’d call everyone I know and personally tell them what an impact they’ve made on my life. And I’d tell them not to be sad. To not give me a funeral, but a party. It sounds twisted, but I truly wouldn’t want anyone to be sad because I’m not here anymore.

Twenty-five minutes into my sixty, we’d arrive at the barn. I would hug my horse, whisper into her ear, kiss her furry muzzle, and sit on her back one last time. Without a helmet.

The ten minutes the way home, I would simply reflect on my life. (Also, I would make Mom let me drive the motorcycle home.)

Now that I’ve only got about twenty minutes left to live, I’d sit in the family room with my brother, sister, mom, and dad. I’d tell them my last wishes. Exchange sentiments. Then we’d all pray together, and my eyes would already be closed in reverence to the Lord when they never opened again.

Sorry for the horrible graph. I forgot I had Excel so I tried to freehand.

 

What about you? Your 3,600,000,000,000 nanoseconds are ticking.

About Aloha

A teen writer and future world ruler. Llamas make me happy.
This entry was posted in Misc. Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 60 Minutes

  1. Nia says:

    That’s a good way to spend your last 60 minutes.

    I’d call my friends and tell them how much they meant to me. I’d call my grandparents and tell them how much I loved them. I’d lay out all of the after-death stuff so my parents didn’t have to deal with it. I’d read a book to my siblings. And then I would pray.

    I would, I’m quite certain, die smiling.

  2. Wait… “wait at least an hour before commenting or you look like an internet creeper” this is a rule? O.o Oops.

    Anyway, I would write. A lot. I’d write letters to everyone, write a blog post, write farewells and then I’d say farewell to my family and kiss my laptop goodbye. Oh and then I’d hurry and eat all my stored up chocolate with my family. That is how I would die, eating chocolate.

    • Aloha says:

      Also a very good strategy. 😛

      No, just on Facebook I’ve heard that generally you wait at least a few minutes before commenting on statuses, or you look like you have nothing better to do than sit around and browse the internet (which we don’t XD). It’s not really a rule, especially with blogging.

  3. annanm says:

    I’d go ride my horse. I wouldn’t tell anyone I was going to die because I wouldn’t want to cause distress nor do I believe I would really care to explain my situation to them. (It sounds selfish, but I figure I can’t just call people and say “Hey, I’m going to be dead soon. Ok, bye!” They’d have questions, which would hog up my hour.) I think I’d rather leave it so that when I’m gone, I’m gone. Do whatever you like after, but until then, don’t act like I’ve already left. (Once again, it sounds callous, but I wouldn’t want to waste any of my time or their time.)
    Then I’d go drive my car, and instead of trying to be sane, I would try out drifting, and going as fast as I can. If I blew up the engine in the process… well I was going to die anyway. If I made it past this point, I’d go grab some fro yo and a book, say a quick prayer, and die in peace.
    It sounds terribly depressing, but if you take it from my point of view, it’s a pretty good hour.

    • Aloha says:

      Wow, that’s actually a…. really good plan. I agree that it might leave people in more distress if you just called them and told them you were dying….
      Plus, if you knew ahead of time, your death might be written off as suicide.

  4. kikiann11 says:

    I would write, post on the Nano forums one last time, blog one last time, say goodbye to all my friends and family, then curl up and die.

Leave a Reply

